PDA

View Full Version : Slider works a bit crappy in Firefox



basslagter
03-03-2007, 11:37 AM
Hello everyone,

This is my first post in here, but I hope there are some kind people out there who would like to help me with the following:

This week I made a slider that reads out a HTML file for DIV's containting content. This content than can be slide in en out of the screen creating a pretty cool slider if I may say so.

Anyway. The problem is that it is working fine in IE. And I cannot say it is a disaster in FireFox but it is just not so smooth as it is in IE.

Well, maybe can tell me what problem this is and hopefully give me a good sollution.

You can find the slider at:
http://www.basslagter.com/DivSlider

You can find a zipped sourcecode package at:
http://www.basslagter.com/DivSlider/source.zip

jscheuer1
03-03-2007, 03:27 PM
I can barely tell a difference here. I'm using FF 1.5.0.10. However, FF is well known for slower response to this type of javascript. By that I mean any javascript that relies upon repetitive incremental changes. CPU speed can help make up for that.

Also, and I didn't look at your code, if there are two factors as there usually are with these sorts of things, if you decrease the interval or timeout milliseconds and the length of travel per iteration, it tends to smooth out the overall appearance of the motion. In other words, move the thing more frequently but not as far each time.

basslagter
03-03-2007, 04:13 PM
Okay, first I want to thank you for your reply.
I did not know that Firefox was handeling such scripts other than IE.

My script now moves the "frame" 1px every time at a various interval (settimeout). It does this until is has reached the width of the frame.

I do not see how I can changes this into variable lengths of movement other than the 1px is does now. Maybe you (or someone else) has a example of how I can accomplisch that.

Well, thanks again!

jscheuer1
03-03-2007, 04:57 PM
If the length of travel is already 1px, there is no wiggle room.

basslagter
03-04-2007, 11:41 AM
I know...maybe I should change that so I can get some more smooth transition. I'll try. Thanks again.

Twey
03-04-2007, 01:12 PM
If you increase both that and the interval (in the same proportion: if you double both the interval and the distance, the overall time taken will remain the same), you will get a less smooth but much faster experience, which will serve you well until Firefox 3 (http://www.mozilla.org/projects/firefox/3.0a2/releasenotes/) comes out.

basslagter
03-05-2007, 04:13 PM
I have increased the distance to 3px a time...this helpt allot.
Thanks!