PDA

View Full Version : [DHTML] Slide Menu



mburt
02-18-2007, 11:03 PM
1) CODE TITLE: Slide Menu

2) AUTHOR NAME/NOTES: Michael Burt (http://mburt.funpic.org/)

3) DESCRIPTION: A slide drop down menu - slides on entry, delays a hide on exit.

4) URL TO CODE: http://mburt.funpic.org/projects/slideout/

mburt
02-19-2007, 12:04 AM
Could someone check it in Opera?

thetestingsite
02-19-2007, 12:25 AM
Nice little script there, but I could have sworn I seen something (if not exactly) like that on another website. Anyways, works in IE7 and FF 2.0.0.1 (both on Win XP). Haven't tried Opera becuase I only have it on my work computer. Sorry. One thing I did notice though, in IE7, the drop downs slide a lot slower than in FF.

Added Later: Also works in IE6 (Win XP)

mburt
02-19-2007, 12:31 AM
Yes, I noticed it's slower in IE for some reason... typical.

blm126
02-19-2007, 06:16 AM
Works fine in Opera. Why don't you download it so you can check yourself? Opera has pretty good javascript debugging anyway(sometimes better than Firefox)

mburt
02-19-2007, 10:15 AM
Don't you have to pay for Opera?

shachi
02-19-2007, 05:49 PM
mburt: I don't think so, I can download it easily(without seeing even a glimpse of "paying" on their site.)

mburt
02-19-2007, 06:04 PM
I guess I'll be downloading it then.

shachi
02-19-2007, 06:08 PM
Nice menu by the way. You've gotta teach me how to animate. ;)

Doesn't it slide-out when moused out?

mburt
02-19-2007, 06:15 PM
I tried that, but the setTimeouts kept intercepting each other causing it to roll out at double time off and on.

djr33
02-20-2007, 05:45 AM
Hmm.... if you go fast enough, it can cause two to pop up at once.

I think an object oriented (independant-of-each-other) approach would make sense for this.

Then one (or more) could go away as the others pop up. Might get a little old, I suppose, but at least there wouldn't be a conflict between them.

mburt
02-20-2007, 03:43 PM
Yeah, I noticed that too... small bug, but can be easily fixed. I will when I get the chance.