PDA

View Full Version : Struggling with MC's and linking

illcavi2000
02-18-2007, 10:04 AM
I am new to flash and am having troubles. I basically have a main page with 5mc's (animated buttons) but i cannot make them link to well anything, but most importantly another frame/layer when clicked. I can get this to work when i change the mc's to buttons but then i lose the animation effect so i kinda want the animation to still be there... any help would be great thanks.

BLiZZaRD
02-18-2007, 03:22 PM
Which version of Flash are you using?

If you are using older versions you will have a tough time. For the newer ones remember this:

MCs can have and use button attributes, but buttons can not have MC attributes.

Another option though, is to make your button, have it do what you want it to do, and on the over/down state (which ever works best for you) drag an instance of the animated MC so you have the MC inside the button, which of course has it's AS on it.

It could also be a problem with your AS, you can post that and I can take a look at it :D

illcavi2000
02-18-2007, 05:54 PM
I am using Flash 8 professional. I used a online tutorial for making animated buttons right, but it doesnt say how too link anything. im not even sure what action script i should be doing. I actually tried using some AS that you posted for someone else to try, but i couldnt get it to work....

on(release){
_root.button_mission.gotoAndStop(1);
}

is what i used.... the MC i want to go to something is button_mission, and the page i want it to go to is on a layer called writeup. on the write up layer i have 5 keyframes each with different things i wanted the MC's to link to. maybe these need to be on their own layers?

BLiZZaRD
02-18-2007, 08:17 PM
try this:

on(release){
_parent.button_mission.gotoAndStop("1");
}

That is of course if I understand you correctly and your "writeup" layer is on an MC INSIDE the button_mission MC

illcavi2000
02-18-2007, 10:16 PM