PDA

View Full Version : Tab Content Script Issues in IE - Tabs Disappearing



calpaully
02-09-2007, 06:21 PM
1) Script Title: Tab Content Script

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/tabcontent.htm

3) Describe problem:
I have set up the Tab Content script for the services page at http://www.insight-nyc.com/new/services.html. Everything is working perfectly in Firefox, but in IE, when the tabs are clicked, some of the other tabs disappear! I have tried and tried to find the issue here but it is beyond me.

Also it should be noted that on pages where i have the tab dynamically selected by <body onload=...>, the tabs are lost when the onload event executes. Here is a link to a page with the onload event included: http://www.insight-nyc.com/new/srvc-americas-cup-yacht-charter.html

Can any tabs script genius help with this problem? I greatly appreciate it!!!

ddadmin
02-10-2007, 12:01 AM
I haven't quite figured out the disappearing tab problem in IE yet. It has something to do with the layout of your page, that I'm pretty sure. I'll poke around some more.

Regarding dynamically selecting tab, it seems to be working except the disappearing tab issue in IE again. However, you actually don't need to use onload="" to set a tab to be selected by default. The declaration class="selected" will do that:


<li class="selected"><a href="#" rel="tcontent1">Tab 1</a></li>

BTW, please note that your page is currently in violation of our usage terms, since the credit notice doesn't appear inline on the page. Please reinstate the credit notice:

calpaully
02-10-2007, 05:27 AM
Thanks so much for your quick reply! I really love the script and I am hoping I can make it work. This is for a high-profile client of mine so I've been going crazy trying to get it to work. I might have lost the credit notice since I've been going back and forth with so many code changes but I just went back and put it in again on all the pages, sorry about that!

It sounds like you have seen this issue before - perhaps since we have an active example of it there is some way I can help to troubleshoot it? Let me know if you would like me to make any code changes to see if we can isolate the problem, and hopefully we can turn this lemon into lemonade! :)

Also shoot me a message if you would like to work on this over IM or email then we can post the solution here.

Thanks again...

Paul

ddadmin
02-10-2007, 08:38 AM
Ah, ok, finally found the problem. Inside the HTML for your tab UL:


<ul id="maintab" class="shadetabs">
<li class="selected"><a href="#" rel="Core"><img src="test2_files/srvc-tabs-core-services-up.gif" alt="Core Services" name="coreservices" border="0" height="29" width="146"></a></li><li class=""><a href="#" rel="Tours"><img src="test2_files/srvc-tabs-special-tours-up.gif" alt="Special Tours" name="specialtours" border="0" height="29" width="144"></a></li><li class=""><a href="#" rel="Transportation"><img src="test2_files/srvc-tabs-transportation-up.gif" alt="Transportation" name="transportation" border="0" height="29" width="163"></a></li><li class=""><a href="#" rel="Trips"><img src="test2_files/srvc-tabs-trips-getaways-up.gif" alt="Trips and Getaways" name="tripsgetaways" border="0" height="29" width="170"></a></li><li class=""><a href="#" rel="Events"><img src="test2_files/srvc-tabs-events-up.gif" alt="Events" name="events" border="0" height="29" width="94"></a></li>
</ul>

Remove the code in red. Basically in these two cases you have a name attribute with the same value as the corresponding rel attribute within the same tag (well, the <a> associated with the image anyway). This is causing IE to think that the tab is part of the tab content to contract/ extract. In fact, ideally, you should just remove the name attribute from all links above to avoid a clash from occuring again.

nukecpower
03-08-2007, 06:14 PM
Hi,

I use this script on my website at http://ue328.webexcellence.net/ . on Firefox, Opera, and Netscape browsers It work great!.
But unfortunately, It doesn't work at IE 7 . Any suggestion please?

Here is the page that uses Ajax tab content :
http://ue328.webexcellence.net/network.php
Try use IE7 and Click on the Country flag.

Please advise.

Thank you

mhenderson
03-08-2007, 08:29 PM
I'm using the Tab Content Script on a page I'm designing. It works on FF. But on IE7, when I click on a tab, I get a warning box, stating that there's an error. Then, the browser goes to the external.html associated with that tab.

Line: 41
Char: 1
Error: Access is denied
Code: 0

I assume this in line 41 of the ajaxtabs.js file, which reads:
page_request.send(null)

Any ideas?
Thanks, Matt

mhenderson
03-08-2007, 08:31 PM
nukecpower,
I went to your site with IE7. It seems to work fine. Good job!
Peace, Matt

mhenderson
03-08-2007, 09:25 PM
I'm using the Tab Content Script on a page I'm designing. It works on FF. But on IE7, when I click on a tab, I get a warning box, stating that there's an error. Then, the browser goes to the external.html associated with that tab.

Line: 41
Char: 1
Error: Access is denied
Code: 0

I assume this in line 41 of the ajaxtabs.js file, which reads:
page_request.send(null)

Any ideas?
Thanks, Matt

Nevermind. I'm going to use Tab Content Script (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/tabcontent.htm) instead. It seems seaier to configure.
Thanks anyway, Matt