PDA

View Full Version : AnyLink Drop Down Menu - Branching possible?



danwangkw
02-04-2007, 01:32 PM
Script: AnyLink Drop Down Menu
http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm

Hello Dynamic Drive Team,

While the script is working like magic for my photo gallery, is it possible for links to have branching sub-menus? I'm thinking of sorting links by categories and have each category branch out to specific galleries. Otherwise, it would be rather messy if I had to create a long list of uncategorised links over time.

If it's not possible, can you point me to the right direction for an alternative solution?

Rgds,
Dan

jscheuer1
02-04-2007, 02:43 PM
Someone has done something like that, see:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9667

But, for the type of menu you want and for ease of future expansion, I'd recommend choosing one of the multilevel menus (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/indexc.html) and using that instead.

danwangkw
02-04-2007, 06:42 PM
Thanks for sharing the links, John.

Still on the AnyLink Drop Down Menu (just to satisfy my curiosity), is it possible for a link within the AnyLink Drop Down Menu to trigger off a Vertical Menu?

i.e.

I have a single 'CHOOSE A CATEGORY' button and on mouseOver, it reveals a menu with three links beneath it. On mouseOver of the 2nd link, it triggers off a vertical menu beside it (thus appearing like a 'sub-menu').

Or is this unfeasible due to potential clash of scripts?

Rgds,
Dan

jscheuer1
02-04-2007, 06:50 PM
Read the posts by RON8O in that thread (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9667) and follow the links given in his/her posts. Looks to be a solution.

danwangkw
02-05-2007, 02:06 AM
Hello John,

I did read forum user RON80's post about using two menus (and that he painstakingly separated the scripts into two .js files) in a page. But the links he provided are for Dynamic Drive's AnyLink Drop Down Menu and AnyLink Vertical Menu, not his own website where he successfully implemented both menus.

Also, without seeing his website, I'm unable to know if he found a way to trigger off a vertical menu from a link within the AnyLink Drop Down Menu or whether they're just two separate menus.

I'll contact RON80 for more info.

Thanks for the assistance.

Rgds,
Dan