PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a tiny flash movie.



shachi
01-29-2007, 04:08 PM
Can anyone(who has flash) create me a small 30x30 px flash movie which has the following actionscript:



Mouse.hide();


Well, basically just to hide the mouse. Thank you for your time and patience. :)

djr33
01-30-2007, 07:51 AM
you could just go with a cursor changing attribute (css), and create a blank cursor...

shachi
01-30-2007, 08:54 AM
*Unfortunately* Doesn't work with invisible cursors. :(

BLiZZaRD
01-30-2007, 01:18 PM
And the Flash movie will only hide the mouse when it is over that 30X30 spot... Unless that is what you want?

<edit> To attach the file :) </edit>

shachi
01-30-2007, 02:39 PM
BLiZZaRD: Thanks a billion!! Do you know how to make the background(which is black right now) transparent? So that the movie is see through? Thanks again.

BLiZZaRD
01-30-2007, 03:10 PM
In the HTML source find:



<param name="quality" value="high" />


after, add:



<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />


Then find:


<embed src="mouseHide.swf" quality="high" bgcolor="#000000"


and replace with:



<embed src="mouseHide.swf" quality="high" wmode="transparent" bgcolor="#000000"


Should do it.

shachi
01-30-2007, 03:22 PM
BLiZZaRD: I don't think it did the trick, maybe because I did some mistakes in editing the markup, here is what I have now(sorry I am a flash newbie).



<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">

<head>

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />

<title>mouseHide</title>

</head>

<body bgcolor="#FF0000">

<!--url's used in the movie-->

<!--text used in the movie-->

<!-- saved from url=(0013)about:internet -->

<object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" codebase="http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8,0,0,0" width="30" height="30" id="mouseHide" align="middle">

<param name="allowScriptAccess" value="sameDomain" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />

<param name="movie" value="mouseHide.swf" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
<param name="bgcolor" value="#000000" />
<embed src="mouseHide.swf" quality="high" wmode="transparent" bgcolor="#000000" width="30" height="30" name="mouseHide" align="middle" allowScriptAccess="sameDomain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" />

</object>

</body>

</html>

shachi
01-30-2007, 03:25 PM
Sorry that I am getting too demanding, which ID do I use if I want to change the position of the object dynamically through javascript? And is there a way to disable the context menu(that comes up when you right-click on the movie)? Thanks again.

BLiZZaRD
01-30-2007, 04:18 PM
Okay, attached is a new one. This is published as transparent, with no context menu. The source of the HTML has been done for you. Just copy and paste, or use as is.

The ID is tricky, and I am not sure I can answer correctly. The problem stems from the ActiveX suit from EOLAS about a year ago.

there is a fix, and I can show you how to do that as well. What you will run into though is the <embed> is for Netscape-based browsers, and it is not valid HTML.

Not sure what exactly you are trying to accomplish so I can't be too specific here. If you follow the ActiveX fix, and then situate your HTML so that it is valid, you will not have the embed tag anymore and it will work in all browsers. It's a bit tricky though.

shachi
01-30-2007, 04:36 PM
I think it's the problem with Linux that I the movie isn't transparent and I can still see the context menu. Thanks anyways.:) I found out a fix to effectively move it.

BLiZZaRD
01-30-2007, 04:40 PM
Before you give up.. test it for sure: HERE (http://cleverwasteoftime.com/blizzcorner/mouseHide.html)

This is a live version of the second zip file I uploaded.

If it works for you the 30X30 square is in the top left corner.

shachi
01-30-2007, 05:05 PM
Yep, I think it's the problem with Linux.

BLiZZaRD
01-30-2007, 05:52 PM
Hmm, that is weird... which Flash player version do you have? I think this requires a least version 8..

shachi
01-31-2007, 05:21 AM
Shockwave Flash 9.0 r31

BLiZZaRD
01-31-2007, 12:56 PM
I don't have time to load my *Nix box up right now as I am about to leave, but I will check it at work and see what I get.

It should work... I can't see how the OS has anything to do with how the browser displays anything... unless you installed the plugins in the wrong folder...I don't know.


<edit> I guess I will have to wait til I get home again.. I forgot there isn't a player for 64 bit version. Sorry for the delay </edit>