PDA

View Full Version : trying to create link- image w/ description tooltip



danno
01-25-2007, 06:45 PM
1) Script Title: Image W/Description tooltip

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/imagetooltip.htm#

3) Describe problem: Trying to create proper text link for showing image upon mouse-over. I named all images intended to show upon mousing over the text as fishing cartoon1.gif, fishing cartoon2.gif etc.
When I created a text link for this, I created:
http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing_cartoons.htm/fishing-cartoon1.gif/imagetooltip.htm for this page: http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing_cartoons.htm but when going to that first Fishing Cartoon 1, nothing happens. Please recommend the right URL to add in ADDRESS box. Thanks!

jonnyynnoj
01-25-2007, 06:58 PM
Where you have this line:

<a href="http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing_cartoons.htm/fishing-cartoon1.gif/imagetooltip.htm">Fishing Cartoon1 &nbsp;</a>

Change it to this:

<a href="http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing_cartoons.htm/fishing-cartoon1.gif/imagetooltip.htm" onmouseover="doTooltip(event,0)" onmouseout="hideTip()">Fishing Cartoon1 &nbsp;</a>

Hope that helps.

danno
01-25-2007, 07:23 PM
Hi Jonny:
I changed it to that....still doesn't work. I am bewildered after playing all last eve & this morning. If you check this link: http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing_cartoons.htm & fo down to hyperlink text Fishing Cartoon 1 and nothing appears.

????

danno

jscheuer1
01-25-2007, 07:31 PM
Well, it would work if you made the change suggested and:

http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing-cartoon1.gif

existed, you did not and it does not.

jonnyynnoj
01-25-2007, 07:33 PM
You still haven't changed this bit of code:

<a href="http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing_cartoons.htm/fishing-cartoon1.gif/imagetooltip.htm">Fishing Cartoon1 &nbsp;</a>


Find the code above and change it to:

<a href="http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing_cartoons.htm/fishing-cartoon1.gif/imagetooltip.htm" onmouseover="doTooltip(event,0)" onmouseout="hideTip()">Fishing Cartoon1 &nbsp;</a>

danno
01-25-2007, 08:00 PM
. . . I made your suggested: http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing-cartoon1.gif
as the link to my text Fishing Cartoon1 on that page. My question to Jonny is that code is from Step2, which I have not added into my HTML. Can you recommend the best spot to add it? Basically that is where I am messing this up. Otherwise, I think I am so close. Once I get that first image to show up, the rest of it will be easy for me to configure . . .

jscheuer1
01-25-2007, 08:05 PM
. . . I made your suggested: http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing-cartoon1.gif
as the link to my text Fishing Cartoon1 on that page. My question to Jonny is that code is from Step2, which I have not added into my HTML. Can you recommend the best spot to add it? Basically that is where I am messing this up. Otherwise, I think I am so close. Once I get that first image to show up, the rest of it will be easy for me to configure . . .

No you didn't or you misunderstood it. It wasn't a suggestion, it was an observation. That file needs to be on the server and it is not there.

jonnyynnoj's code goes right where he said it should go as a replacement for:


<a href="http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing_cartoons.htm/fishing-cartoon1.gif/imagetooltip.htm">Fishing Cartoon1 &nbsp;</a>

danno
01-25-2007, 10:26 PM
Thanks John . . .as is evidenced by attached screenshot, I made the appropriate text link but I need to know:
#1. Is that code jonny mentions, already existing in my script or
in my HTML?
#2. If it is not existing within the existing script or HTML, where should I
add it?

thank you - Danno

re: http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing_cartoons.htm

jscheuer1
01-25-2007, 11:18 PM
I cannot read that screen shot.

Click here:

http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing-cartoon1.gif

You will see what I've been seeing - Not Found.

As to the other matter we've both told you a number of times, this part that is now in your code (what you've now changed it to):


<a href="http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing-cartoon1.gif">Fishing Cartoon1 &nbsp;</a>

Regardless of what href you use, you need the correct events so change it to:


<a href="http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing-cartoon1.gif" onmouseover="doTooltip(event,0)" onmouseout="hideTip()">Fishing Cartoon1 &nbsp;</a>

But that will only get the tip working, without the image on the server in the location that you have specified here in your code (yes, this code is also a part of your page already):


messages[0] = new Array('fishing-cartoon1.gif','Here is a red balloon on a white background',"#FFFFFF");

you will not see the image, just the tip.

danno
01-25-2007, 11:45 PM
. . . as you'll see if you mouse over the text link for the very first one. I use FrontPage2002 and I am positive that specific folder is on my server as I can clearly see the folder with all of my images (fishing cartoon1.gif, fishing cartoon2.gif etc.) when I open up my FOLDER LIST. Is there anything you can recommend that I try or?? I feel I am so close . . . but . . .(and thank you Jonny on the code revision...)

re: http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing_cartoons.htm

danno
01-26-2007, 12:09 AM
. . . I am so excited . . .NOW, I see the intended image popping up. That's all I needed to see. If you can see the partial shot, let me know. Your guidance has been great on this. Now, I assume I can use Jonnyynnoj's suggested code as a template to go by, correct? Only put in the proper file name for each image - correct?

danno
01-26-2007, 12:43 AM
I got it to work....the problem was within my image folder. I had fishing cartoons. It needed to be named fishing_cartoons (UNDERSCORE!). I really appreciate this excellent assistance and also Jonnyynnoj's code change....IT WORKED! I note a big problem is FrontPage stuffing alot of excess code within the HTML. It would be alot faster finding snippets! By the way, how would I center that first image?

re: http://www.cartoonfile.net/fishing_cartoons.htm

danno
09-25-2007, 12:18 AM
See my link here http://pudgie204411.tripod.com/medieval_cartoons.htm and am trying to understand why when mousing over the text links, no images appear? Is there anything I need to fix or replace? If I need to replace something, please supply the specific HTML or script....it is a bit confusing . . .

danno
09-25-2007, 12:50 AM
I configured IMAGE W/DESCRIPTION TOOLTIP here: http://pudgie204411.tripod.com/medieval_cartoons.htm and when mousing over the links, nothing appears . . . . . See: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/imagetooltip.htm = any help appreciated.