PDA

View Full Version : Can I get a word from the Linux fans?



Masterskinnie
01-24-2007, 04:44 PM
I would like to hear what everyone has to say about Linux and all the versions out there for it. So be kind to drop a line.:)

Twey
01-24-2007, 05:02 PM
Uhm... what about it? :)

boxxertrumps
01-24-2007, 06:26 PM
Linux... Modularized, Open Sauce.

ive Been Trying To Get The Kubuntu Desktop Distro (6.10 I think) To Work, But i Cant Get The Bios set up Properly, And If It Ends Up Booting Without Windows i Get A Command Line A:/> Input...

Twey
01-24-2007, 06:31 PM
If It Ends Up Booting Without Windows i Get A Command Line A:/> Input...Sounds like you have a separate boot device. Have you checked there's no floppy in the drive? That's the drive usually associated with A: in DOS/Windows. Failing that, I'd suspect a recovery partition of some kind.

boxxertrumps
01-24-2007, 06:59 PM
No Floppy. It is odd because I Can Still Navigate it through the use of dir and cd commands... I Had Gotten To A Simple GUI Program, But it Was In German I Think.

Twey
01-24-2007, 07:29 PM
Uh... are you sure this is DOS?

mburt
01-24-2007, 07:36 PM
The entire microsoft operating system bases all of it's commands on dos, I can't see why this wouldn't be DOS.

Twey
01-24-2007, 08:17 PM
Because DOS can't run GUI programs. I'm thinking it was probably actually the boot CD, though why a Linux shell would have A:/> as its prompt, I've no idea...

mburt
01-24-2007, 08:19 PM
Because DOS can't run GUI programs
*hits self on head
Yeah, I forgot. Once again, you're right... Well, half right, we still don't know the answer :p

ItsMeOnly
01-24-2007, 10:58 PM
Can't, unless the program will enter VESA graphic mode, like old picture viewers (what was the name again?), or trackers....

Twey
01-24-2007, 11:26 PM
Hm, good point. Yes, there are entire graphical games that run in DOS. However, if it were DOS, it would follow that the hard drive would be boxxertrumps' own, and thus that any programs would be in his own language.

BLiZZaRD
01-25-2007, 02:15 PM
I think he is talking about the use of the ubuntu disk, like getting the spash screen. (note the Ubuntu disk of 6.10 is a live C.D. so if you are installing on it's own hard drive you need to do so from a disk with an eth0 connection at a minimum.)


Also the default language of Ubuntu is German, make sure you download the English version :D


Fedora Core 5 and 6 used here.

Masterskinnie
02-02-2007, 06:09 PM
I can't answer this. I never had this problem.

But thanks blizzard. That is probably it.

Masterskinnie
03-21-2007, 06:17 PM
though why a Linux shell would have A:/> as its prompt, I've no idea...

Linux, especially Ubuntu, does not recognize its drive by letters but by name.

Twey
03-21-2007, 06:25 PM
Hence my confusion.

boxxertrumps
03-21-2007, 08:54 PM
no actually, i found that i royally screwed up when making the CD, and the contents of the drive was that of a regular boot disk.

techno_race
03-24-2007, 02:40 AM
I randomly switch between Windows XP, Windows Vista, Mac OS 9 and Ubuntu. Soon, I might get Mac OS 4, Windows 2000, Windows 3.1, Windows 95, Windows 98, Kubuntu and Haiku. (Yes, I use Virtual PC programs. Windows Vista is my base OS.)

Blake
03-26-2007, 01:59 PM
I would run it if I could get it to support my RAID array.

Masterskinnie
03-27-2007, 06:33 PM
I likely to end up as like techno_race

lainlives
03-28-2007, 05:44 PM
i use XP home (oem) pro (msinternal) and media and FDCore2

Aidanx
03-31-2007, 05:42 PM
I am running Linux, use to be Vista Premium.

ItsMeOnly
03-31-2007, 10:06 PM
Systems I use? :D

Let's start:
- Linux 2.4, 2.6
- SunOS 4.1.1, Solaris 7, 9, 10
- HP-UX 11.00, 11i v1,
- IRIX 5.3, 6.5.14
- Tru64 5.1
- VMS 7.3-1
- AmigaOS 3.1
- Windows 98, XP, CE

Twey
03-31-2007, 11:14 PM
ItsMeOnly, I want your computer collection. :p

Anyone tried the Hurd?

Masterskinnie
04-04-2007, 06:15 PM
I love how this forum ended up:D :D lol, lol, lol, lol, lol, lol, lol:D :D

ItsMeOnly
04-04-2007, 10:49 PM
ItsMeOnly, I want your computer collection. :p
7 grand and it's yours :D
In fact that's a pretty low offer :)



















j/k, would never part with it, especially Indy, B132L, and Jensen (13th DEC UK demo unit) AlphaPC

Twey
04-04-2007, 11:33 PM
7 grand and it's yours
In fact that's a pretty low offer :)Yeeeah, that's the tricky bit :)

ItsMeOnly
04-05-2007, 12:24 AM
Yeeeah, that's the tricky bit :)
Well, if you count several maxed out machines, it's not so unobvious- I have complete Indigo Elan (excluding nothing), almost complete Indy (lacking only the "granite" monitor), two HP C3600 (1.5 Gig RAM alone costs about 100 bucks) :)
Now count Suns with keyboards and mice, blown out Amiga A1200, and of course SMP PC (P D 915 /2.8) with GF7100GS and 2 Gig of RAM :)

dwhs
04-05-2007, 09:30 AM
I would like to hear what everyone has to say about Linux and all the versions out there for it. So be kind to drop a line.:)

Linux for sure, can't wait until someone with enough money makes a user friendly distro and it takes off like a wild fire. :eek:

boxxertrumps
04-05-2007, 03:43 PM
if you want user friendly, get k/ed/x/ubuntu.

Twey
04-05-2007, 03:49 PM
There are plenty of user-friendly Linux distros out there: Ubuntu, Fedora, Xandros, SuSE...