PDA

View Full Version : PHP Email mail()

garywhw
01-21-2007, 05:06 PM
Hi All :-)

I am new to PHP and are testing an email script which shows the error below. I am using localhost and didnt know how to fix the problem.

Warning: mail() [function.mail]: Failed to connect to mailserver at "localhost" port 25, verify your "SMTP" and "smtp_port" setting in php.ini or use ini_set() in room-reservation-booking-form.php on line 124

----

While i uploaded it to the hosting server for testing, it said : successfully sent out. Yet, i didnt receive any email to both my gmail account and personal email accounts. Please advise what should i do to rectify the problem. Thanks :-)

BLiZZaRD
01-21-2007, 05:38 PM
First ensure you are using localhost as your server. localhost is the default setting for most DB scripts, and some servers don't use localhost as their DB server name. Some do though.

If yours does, try running it on port 2525, instead of just 25.

garywhw
01-22-2007, 05:11 PM
Thanks for your response. However, would appreciate if you would explain the meaning and steps of running it on port 2525 instead of 25, as i am a newbie with PHP.

cowguru2000
01-22-2007, 11:51 PM
Wait...

You might want to make sure the mail() function has a "From:" in it. This would be the last thing in the mail() function ... ex

mail(blah, blah, blah, "From: myemail@myhost.com")

thetestingsite
01-23-2007, 12:04 AM
First ensure you are using localhost as your server. localhost is the default setting for most DB scripts, and some servers don't use localhost as their DB server name. Some do though.

If yours does, try running it on port 2525, instead of just 25.

The message:

Warning: mail() [function.mail]: Failed to connect to mailserver at "localhost" port 25, verify your "SMTP" and "smtp_port" setting in php.ini or use ini_set() in room-reservation-booking-form.php on line 124