PDA

View Full Version : I must be doing something wrong but I'm also getting a script error



iwant
12-31-2006, 08:39 PM
:confused:
1) Script Title: Dynamic-FX Slide-In Menu (v 6.5)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/davidmenu.htm

3) Describe problem:

I've looked all over the site and can't find an answer to the problem I'm having. I downloaded http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/davidmenu.htm (Dynamic-FX Slide-In Menu v6.5) and it works wonderfully, that is until I change the links then it doesn't work at all! It disappears and I can't for the life of me figure out what I've done. I am not using any apostrophes or anything like that, just a simple url ex: http://www.123mydomain.com/photos/ That's it....

I open it in textpad because I obviously need to change the links on it and that's all I do. I just change the link url's and titles and nothing else. I then save the file and then ftp it over to my server. When I try the url on my website where it should be it doesn't even exist on it now, like it's not even on the html! I go back and ftp the original script and it works..... I change the links again and voila.... it disappears, doesn't even show up on the screen. Any idea what the heck is going on?

Btw, when I originally tried to open this script I get:

Script: D:/ssmItems.js
Line: 1
Char: 1
Error: Syntax error
Code: 800A03EA
Source: Microsoft JScript compilation error

and

Script:\ ssm.js
Line 6
Char 1
Error: 'document' is undefined
Code: 800A1391
Source: MicrosoftJScript runtime error

I was however able to open it through text pad to change the url's.

Any help would be much appreciated. I really like this script but it's driving me nuts.

vickie

jscheuer1
01-04-2007, 07:33 AM
That's really not enough for us to go on. We would need to see the code that is producing those errors, preferably in action via a link to your problem page.

iwant
01-05-2007, 01:39 AM
You need to see the code? I downloaded the script. When I attempt to open the ssmItems.js it won't open. Click on it, click 'open' and all I get is a typical small grey window that says:

Script: D:/ssmItems.js
Line: 1
Char: 1
Error: Syntax error
Code: 800A03EA
Source: Microsoft JScript compilation error

I don't get this message on a page, it's what happens when I try to open this to put in my own urls.

jscheuer1
01-05-2007, 04:12 AM
I thought that was an error while running the script. Open the files with a text editor, such as notepad.

iwant
02-05-2007, 06:21 PM
1) Script Title: Dynamic-FX Slide-In Menu (v 6.5)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/davidmenu.htm

3) Describe problem:

It's both actually. I gave up on this because it was driving me crazy. To get past the script error I ended up opening it in textpad which worked fine. That's one problem solved.

The second problem still isn't solved though. I'll try to explain it again more clearly if I can. I obviously needed to change the links in this script to apply to the site I'm doing. So I opened the file and went in and changed a simple url..... that's it. An example is this....

the original links was this:
ssmItems[1]=["Dynamic Drive", "http://www.dynamicdrive.com", ""]

so I need to change it to apply to the website I'm doing so all I changed was the name and url to say this:
ssmItems[1]=["Events", "http://www.mywebsite.com/events.html", ""]

I changed all the urls as needed then ftp'd it over to my directory and nadda.... it now won't work. As soon as I do that, the script no longer even shows on the site. It's like it's not even there.

jscheuer1
02-05-2007, 07:25 PM
What is the exact name of the editor you used? I ask because either it is a word processing program that is inserting invalid (for scripting) characters into the file or, you may have made an error in editing. There could be other problems, too numerous to imagine.

As I said before and, now that you can at least open and edit the file, it would help us to figure this out if you posted a link to your problem page.

iwant
02-05-2007, 07:39 PM
Hi John,

Thanks for answering so quickly...... I use textpad usually but I've also tried just good old notepad to change the url's in so I can't figure out what is going on. Once I change the url's the blasted thing won't work.

Here is the page: http://theriverdaleanimalhospital.com/ it should have the menu on the left but it's not there...

thanks again

blm126
02-05-2007, 08:36 PM
The new line strikes again.
This


ssmItems[1]=["Welcome",
"http://www.theriverdaleanimalhospital.com/welcome.html", ""]

Should look like


ssmItems[1]=["Welcome","http://www.theriverdaleanimalhospital.com/welcome.html",""]

iwant
02-05-2007, 09:00 PM
Hi,

I just looked and opened it right up so it's all on one line and looks like this:

ssmItems[1]=["Welcome", "http://www.theriverdaleanimalhospital.com/welcome.html", ""]

(hopefully it shows up all on one line here as it does in my notepad)

I ftp'd it over and still nothing..... it still isn't showing on the website. Am I missing something? I looked at your examples and mine reads the same as your second one does. All on one line yet it isn't working.

iwant
02-05-2007, 09:06 PM
Hey! I got it working. I have absolutely no idea how I did it but I did. I went back to the original download and changed all the urls again in notepad and voila..... Wish I knew what I was doing wrong in the first place but I'm sticking with what I got. Hopefully it will now work ok.

Thanks for everyone's help.