PDA

View Full Version : HV Menu v5.5 - launching links in new window



johnnyi
02-04-2005, 09:11 PM
Howdy all,

Is it possible to launch all links from the HV Menu v5.5 in a new window? I tried adding the "_blank" tag link into each of the links in the exmplmenu_var.js code, but that didn't work.

Here's an example from my exmplmenu_var.js:

Menu8_1=new Array("CCIA Home Page","http://ccia/","",0,20,150);

What could I add to either the js code or the main HTML code that would cooperate with this script and launch the "http://ccia/" link in a new window from my menu?

:confused:

Thanks.

cr3ative
02-04-2005, 10:00 PM
Hiya - please read fully the "config.htm" file which comes in the zip. It explains how to target frames.

Specifically,
var DocTargetFrame="_blank";

Play around with the variables in config.htm until it works.

cr3ative

johnnyi
02-05-2005, 05:34 PM
Thanks for the reply cr3ative, but that didn't work for me... I checked that line in the exmplmenu_var.js script, but it's still launching pages in the same window, and not opening a new browser window like I'm trying to get it to do... any other thoughts/suggestions?

I tried it as both:

var DocTargetFrame="_blank";
var DocTargetFrame='_blank';

...but neither worked...

cepheid4
02-09-2005, 11:44 PM
Use this code for opening frame in a separate window:

Menu1_1=new Array("Name of URL","javascript:window.open(URL.htm);","",);

mahart663
03-09-2005, 02:55 PM
I tried that also and it doesn't work.

mahart663
03-09-2005, 03:16 PM
I tried this code and it works.

"javascript:window.open('http://www.yoursite.com','yourtitle',config='height=400,width=600')"

You can add whatever configurations you want after config=

Hope this helps!

mahart663
03-09-2005, 03:28 PM
Actually go here http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art29105.asp

You don't have to use the config= command and each feature has to be enclosed in a single quote.
ex. 'height=600,width=400','resizable=yes',scrollable=no'

johnnyi
03-09-2005, 03:33 PM
Thanks all,

I was also able to accomplish this with the following string:

Menu4_4_1=new Array("Test","javascript:NewWin=window.open(\"http://www.dynamicdrive.com\",\"NWin\");window[\"NewWin\"].focus()","",0,20,125);

I appreciate all the help.

- i

maciejchwala
01-17-2006, 02:50 PM
Hi everybody :)
I used this:



Menu4_4_1=new Array("Test","javascript:NewWin=window.open(\"http://www.dynamicdrive.com\",\"NWin\");window[\"NewWin\"].focus()","",0,20,125);


but the mew window opens without address bar... what should I change to have link open in new window with address?

thanks in advance

regards

Maciej