PDA

View Full Version : How does this Work?

jcbrady
12-24-2006, 06:28 PM
Thanks for the great website. I'm somewhat new to CSS positioning and I'm baffled by some code that is used in the 3 column fixed layout template http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/layouts/item/css-fixed-layout-31-fixed-fixed-fixed/. Not that I can't get it to work, but I can't figure out WHY it works. This code for example uses a negative margin that is the same width as the Maincontainer:

#leftcolumn{
float: left;
width: 180px; /*Width of left column in pixel*/
margin-left: -840px; /*Set margin to that of -(MainContainerWidth)*/
background: #C8FC98;
}

Why does the negative margin-left make this thing work? It seems like it would just move it completely out of view. Can anyone explain?:o

thanks again,

John

motormichael12
12-24-2006, 06:50 PM
The left column is connected to the center, it is just another div... the negative margin moves the column out, otherwise it would mess up how it looks... basically it is not in its own area, it is part of the center column...

<body>
<div id="maincontainer">

<div id="topsection"><div class="innertube"><h1>CSS Fixed Layout #3.1- (Fixed-Fixed-Fixed)</h1></div></div>

<div id="contentwrapper">
<div id="contentcolumn">
<div class="innertube"><b>Content Column: <em>Fixed</em></b> <script type="text/javascript">filltext(10)</script></div>
</div>
</div>

<div id="leftcolumn">
<div class="innertube"><b>Left Column: <em>180px</em></b> <script type="text/javascript">filltext(20)</script></div>

</div>

<div id="rightcolumn">
<div class="innertube"><b>Right Column: <em>190px</em></b> <script type="text/javascript">filltext(15)</script></div>
</div>

<div id="footer"><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/">Dynamic Drive CSS Library</a></div>

</div>
</body>

Everything is contained in the center column, the margin is - so that it will move it away, otherwise it tries to put it in the main column, messing up the configuration of the columns.