PDA

View Full Version : Chrome dropdown over flash not working



madvibes
12-18-2006, 06:09 PM
1) Chrome CSS Drop Down Menu

2) http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/chrome/index.htm

3) Describe problem:

I have the chrome menu in a div directly above a Flash header and while the flash is animating, the chrome dropdown gets erased. The menu works great over a standard image, but not over the Flash. Here's an example: http://www.morrisseygoodale.com - the index page is the only one with the Flash header. The animation is quick, so you have to mouse over "management solutions" quickly (or refresh and try again) to see what i'm talking about.

ddadmin
12-18-2006, 08:42 PM
Your webpage isn't loading for me. Does the problem only occur in IE, and I assume the iframe shim feature is enabled inside the script?


enableiframeshim: 1,

madvibes
12-18-2006, 08:47 PM
the site is online and there's no reason you shouldn't be able to load it... bad link?

http://www.morrisseygoodale.com/

having iframeshim enabled or disabled isn't causing any problems in IE. in fact, IE works just fine, surprisingly.

Firefox on mac is where the problem I first described is happening. firefox on PC will not display the dropdown at all over Flash, with iframeshim enabled or not. it will display the dropdown just fine on the interior pages (non-flash headers)

jscheuer1
12-19-2006, 04:40 AM
Follow the detailed information at:

http://www.macromedia.com/cfusion/knowledgebase/index.cfm?id=tn_14201

Or, if this short version (good in most cases) fixes it, so much the better! Add in this language to your object/embed tag:

Add the following parameter to the OBJECT tag:

<param name="wmode" value="transparent">

Add the following attribute to the EMBED tag:

wmode="transparent"

madvibes
12-19-2006, 02:02 PM
aaaah. brilliant. i owe you a beer, mate.