PDA

View Full Version : very simple thing - alert limited to one only

a_design_interactive
12-17-2006, 03:52 AM
hi. i'm new to javascript (believe it or not) and want to know how to limit the amount of times something happens. specifically, i want to do an onmouseout event handler have an alert popup (is there a less cheezy way than the actual "alert" window, like something from the DOM Tooltip? if that's not too complex?). but i don't want the alert to popup any more than one time-- even if the user moves from the page and comes back to it (in the same visit at least-- it doesn't necessarily need to be a bonefide "cookie", unless that's the only way... 'course, i only know about server-side cookies / sessions (yes, i do know some php fairly well)

thank you for your help!! re: what i said about the tooltip-- really, the standard alert window is fine. (unless tooltips ain't too difficult) -- i just don't want to go copy pasting code again. now that i've caught on a bit here-- i want to learn by actively doing, instead of copy/ paste, so i'm going to have to take it somewhat slow.... why do i not know how to do this alert? well-- i've searched and searched again-- onmouseover and alert, event handlers, you name it-- no one explains in their how-to anything about limiting [the alert to once only] -- only how it's done [and done again, and again, and...ugh!]

Just Commentary here:
crazy as it may sound (what? this guy has commentary?), after 10 years of experience w/ html, i have only in the past couple of days really got a [beginning] grasp of the whole javascript thing.