PDA

View Full Version : Cookies

dog
12-14-2006, 02:26 PM
Hello everyone,

I don't really understand cookies and I'm not very experienced with javascript.

I'm trying to use cookies to determine whether a form gets shown of not.

I want the page to check for a cookie. If it doesn't find the cookie it shows a form.

When the form gets filled out correctly the cookie gets written.

I hope that makes sense.

I know how to javascript with CSS to show or hide the form with event triggers but bringing cookies into it confusses the whole thing.

Do cookies have names? I'm assuming they do, how do you give them names and then find them by their name again? Is this necessary?

Thanks to anyone that can help,

dog :D

PS I know I asked for this same help a while back but the script I ended up with wasn't doing what I wanted it to and I couldn't get any more support on that thread. :p

mwinter
12-14-2006, 10:15 PM
I don't really understand cookies ...

HTTP is stateless: a client sends a request and the server responds. As far as either is concerned, that's the end of things; each pair of requests and responses are independent. Obviously, this isn't always desired so there needs to be a way to associate one request/response with another. Passing extra information through a POST request body or the query string is one way, and cookies are another.

Generally the only extra information passed between client and server is a session identifier. Cookies shouldn't be used to store large amounts of data, nor anything sensitive. Instead, the server holds onto this and the session identifier links the client with that stored data.

I'm trying to use cookies to determine whether a form gets shown of not.

Fine.

I want the page to check for a cookie. If it doesn't find the cookie it shows a form.

When the form gets filled out correctly the cookie gets written.