PDA

View Full Version : RSS Display Boxes not working



asapcorp
12-11-2006, 07:41 AM
1) Script Title: RSS Display Boxes

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex18/rssdisplaybox/index.htm

3) Describe problem: RSS Display Boxes is not working for me. Even the demo. htm doesn't display any rss feeds.

I am not sure whether what I have done is correct.

I have downloaded the script from the above url and uploaded to my website (php capable) and changed the permission "rssbox/cache/" to 777.

Then I just called the demo.htm

http://asapcorp.ifastnet.com/demo.htm

But it displays the box but no text is in there.

please help me on this. Thanks in advance

Kanna.

ddadmin
12-11-2006, 11:45 AM
I'm confused- you're asking for help on the RSS Display Box script, yet your demo shows the Pausing RSS scroller script instead. I'll go with the later in answering your question. Do you see any cache files created inside the /cache directory? From what I can tell the problem has to do with your server's inability to run the LastRSS class for some reason:

http://asapcorp.ifastnet.com/lastrss/scrollerbridge.php?id=cnn

There was a thread on LastRSS a few days ago from someone else who had a problem running it as well. Had to do with the server disabling PHP's url_fopen() function, which is required in this script.

asapcorp
12-11-2006, 07:52 PM
Sorry for confusion. I tried both of them. None of them work for me.

Now I uploaded the RSS Display Box script and changed the permission "rssbox/cache/" to 777

Please look at it now. Thanks

asapcorp
12-15-2006, 10:10 AM
can somebody help me on this please.

ddadmin
12-15-2006, 11:12 AM
Ok, do you see any files deposited in rssbox/cache/? Also, note that inside the simplepie directory within the zip file you downloaded, there is a file called:

/compatibility_test/compatibility_test.php

Run that file in your browser to see if your server meets the requirements to run Simplepie.

asapcorp
12-17-2006, 12:36 PM
Thanks for your reply.

Nothing in cache folder

I executed the file compatibility_test.php the result was:


Test Should Be What You Have
PHP 4.3.2–4.4.x or 5.0.3–5.1.x 5.2.0
XML Enabled Enabled
PCRE Enabled Enabled
cURL 7.10.5

ddadmin
12-18-2006, 12:40 AM
From what above it seems your server doesn't support curl? Curl is used by PHP to fetch files from other domains onto yours. It would explain why your cache folder is empty- the script cannot even retrieve the RSS file.

If this is the case unfortunately I'm not sure anything short of trying this script on a different server will do, one that supports curl. If you can post a link to your page that attempts to use RSS Display Box, so I can verify that the issue isn't with the JavaScript, but on the server end.

asapcorp
12-18-2006, 10:36 AM
Thanks will check with another host I use and will comeback to you later