PDA

View Full Version : strings into an array

andyl007
12-08-2006, 10:02 PM
Hi,

Im fairly new to javascript etc so please be patient!

Im have a text file which I need to split into strings, and then enter these strings into an arrray.

Thus, I have something like this:

1 hello
2 how are you
3 goodbye

I want to split this into strings (with each line being a new string) and turn this into the following:

a[0] = 'hello'
a[1] = 'how are you'
a[2] = 'goodbye'

Once in the array, the numbers in the original text become unimportant.

Now I know that this can be achieved with an arraylist and possibly a scanner(?). But I dont know the syntax to implement these constructs.

Any help would be much appreciated!

If you cant help with this particular issue, general help on how to put a string into an array would also be useful.

Thanks!

jscheuer1
12-09-2006, 04:01 AM
Javascript will not (by itself) read a text file. Ajax can possibly be used for that or, if it is on the server, server side scripting.

It is unclear to me what you want to do vs. what you want the script to do. Could you supply more specific information about your project?

In any case, the javascript method split() would most likely come in handy. It's syntax is:

string.split('char');

Where string is a literal quoted value or a variable containing the string value. The char you use would be a character that you want the string to be split on. For example:

myArray='1 hello,2 how are you,3 goodbye'.split(',');

Would produce an array called myArray with these items:

myArray[0]='1 hello';
myArray[1]='2 how are you';
myArray[2]='3 goodbye';

andyl007
12-09-2006, 12:29 PM
Hi,

Thanks for your reply. Basically I am trying to get a program to accept a variable (a word), and then read through a string and if the variable is in the string, to highlight it.

Im using PHP to get the variables etc. In fact the majority of the program uses PHP.

Thanks for any help!

jscheuer1
12-09-2006, 03:50 PM