PDA

View Full Version : Position Drop Down Menu



selina
11-30-2006, 05:49 AM
1) Script Title: AnyLink Vertical Menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/anylinkvertical.htm

3) Describe problem: I know that this script is set to automatically adjust to the browser so it displays no matter what. BUT the default display is to the right. I want to override that. I want the menu to display to the left of my navigation. It looks awful with it displaying by default to the right.

I really appreciate the help and apologize if this has already been answered elsewhere because I searched!

Thanks!

PS = Here is the test site if anyone is interested to see what I mean. thepcden (http://thepcden.iguessnot.com)

Ges
11-30-2006, 09:06 AM
1) Script Title: AnyLink Vertical Menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...nkvertical.htm

3) Initiate solution: Change the following from;


var totaloffset=(offsettype=="left")? what.offsetLeft : what.offsetTop;


to;


var totaloffset=(offsettype=="right")? what.offsetLeft : what.offsetTop;


4) Hope this helps!

Regards,
Ges.

ddadmin
11-30-2006, 12:56 PM
Hmm Ges your solution definitely won't work. All it does is switch the "totaloffset" variable to contain what.offsetTop instead.

I'm pretty sure this question has already been answered already in the past, but the solution is just to find the line:


if (windowedge-dropmenuobj.x-obj.offsetWidth < dropmenuobj.contentmeasure)

and comment it:


//if (windowedge-dropmenuobj.x-obj.offsetWidth < dropmenuobj.contentmeasure)

BTW Selina, please note that your page is currently in violation of our usage terms, since the credit notice doesn't appear inline on the page. Please reinstate the credit notice:

Ges
11-30-2006, 02:18 PM
I do apologise ddadmin - I had quickly centered the whole thing and then made the change. Then it appears to work. On closer inspection, now, it's not the proper solution. Yours is.
Thank you for pointing that out!
I'll be more awake and aware in the future.
Regards,
Ges.

selina
11-30-2006, 10:52 PM
First off, I want to say thank you for helping me with this.

Second, in regards to this:

BTW Selina, please note that your page is currently in violation of our usage terms, since the credit notice doesn't appear inline on the page. Please reinstate the credit notice:

I just linked to the script (which does have the full credit) so that it made my code easier to decipher. The Javascript of it links to vertdrop.js (http://thepcden.iguessnot.com/vertdrop.js)
and the style sheet links to vertdrop.css (http://thepcden.iguessnot.com/vertdrop.css). I figured this was okay?

BUT

If the whole thing has to be on every page, then I will certainly comply. Please let me know.

Thanks again for the help.

ddadmin
11-30-2006, 11:31 PM
Hi Selina:
Not a problem. Regarding the usage terms, yes, the credit notice itself should be within the visible source of the page (when the user views source). Please see 3) here: http://dynamicdrive.com/notice.htm

selina
12-01-2006, 12:30 AM
How helpful was that link!

I was going to ask if I could still remote link with the credit below it... and I can! :D

Thanks again!!!!!