PDA

View Full Version : I am not able to load ASP pages



ajaxdude
11-28-2006, 12:46 AM
Hi everyone,

I've been using the ajaxpage function this way:

<a href="javascript:ajaxpage('sample.asp', 'content');">Link</a>

Where:

content is a <DIV> tag ID.

It works great in IE 6, however doesn't work on Firefox 2.0 at all.

I also found the article below which shows a really great AJAX technique:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...tent/index.htm

Someone actually uses this tecnique to load PHP pages, however when trying the same example with ASP page doesn't seem to work.

Is there any way to make this ajaxpage function work with ASP pages?

Thank you in advance.

djr33
11-28-2006, 12:54 AM
The link you posted is invalid... it includes the elipses (...) in the URL it points to, so you probably just didn't notice when cutting/pasting.

Not sure about the problem (yet).

Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.
Warning: Please include a link to the DD script in question in your post. See this thread (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6) for the proper posting format when asking a question.

ajaxdude
11-28-2006, 01:27 AM
Sorry for the broken link in previous message.

This is the link for the DD sample I also tried to use to load ASP pages without success:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxtabscontent/index.htm

As mentioned in previous message, this technique:

<a href="javascript:ajaxpage('sample.asp', 'content');">Link</a>

Works great in IE6 (IE7 don't know yet) but it doesn't work in Firefox 2.0 at all.

Here is the link to my site to see what I mean:

http://www.tremx.com

Click on any link that opens an ASP page.

Please advise.

Thank you in advance.

ajaxdude
11-28-2006, 05:49 PM
Any clues anyone?

djr33
11-28-2006, 06:06 PM
I'm not really sure why it isn't working, but you shouldn't be relying on ajax for your whole site... that's the whole point of loading a new page.... compatible, works well, and no trouble shooting to deal with...

EDIT: I don't see any examples of non .asp pages to try loading in ff on your page.... I doubt it has anything to do with the extension....

ajaxdude
11-28-2006, 07:31 PM
Here is an example of using same DD script and loading HTML pages and it works great, no issues whatsoever:

http://www.rcntech.com/rocketpowermedia/

Click on any "Learn More" or "Sign Up" links to see what I mean. All links under the flash buttons are also loading HTML pages as well.

Thank you.

ajaxdude
11-28-2006, 10:47 PM
Is this a Firefox 2.0 issue?

Does anyone has previous versions of Firefox to try it out?

Thanks.

djr33
11-28-2006, 10:51 PM
Since that other example page is based in flash, it's hard to tell without a lot closer inspection what is different in that from yours.

However, I assume that the problem isn't asp, but rather something about your code.
I'm really not sure what.
I do more PHP and javascript.

I would suggest making a VERY simple version of the page with JUST the script and a button to load an .asp page. If it works, then it's the bigger more complex page that has something wrong with it, not the script itself.

ajaxdude
11-28-2006, 10:54 PM
I will definetely try that today and see what happens.

Thank you for the feedback.

ajaxdude
11-29-2006, 07:04 AM
Yes, you were right the problem wasn't the DD script.

My code was the problem, I already fixed it, however now I have a different issue when loading asp pages with html form using the DD script

I put some code together, so you can take a look at it and advise.

Please see link below using both IE and FF 2.0, click on PORSCHE PAGE and you will notice that IE loads the html form and input type fields but FF 2.0 don't, it just shows the text that is outside of it.

http://www.tremx.com/development/ajaxcars.asp

I hope you understand what I mean.

Thank you in advance.

djr33
11-29-2006, 07:17 AM
FF is right... IE/your code are wrong...
You're missing the close tag for the inner table holding the email, etc. elements.

ajaxdude
11-29-2006, 07:39 PM
Hi djr33,

Maybe I am blind but I can't find the missing tag withing the form.

Here is the code:

<form name="registeredshopper" method="POST" action="javascript:ajaxpage('verifyshopper.asp?dest=&regtxtemail=' + this.registeredshopper.regtxtemail.value + '&txtregpassword=' + this.registeredshopper.txtregpassword.value, 'content');ajaxpage('include/top_nav.asp', 'header');">

<td width="380" valign="top" class="PlainTextBlackBackground">
<table width="85%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr><td class="PlainTextBlackBackground">Email Address</td></tr>
<tr><td><input type="text" name="regtxtemail" size="40,1" maxlength="60" value=""></td></tr>
<tr><td class="PlainTextBlackBackground">
<br>

Password</td></tr>
<tr><td><input type="password" name="txtregpassword" size="15" maxlength="10" value=""></td></tr>
<tr><td><br><input type="Image" value="continue" src="images/btn-continue.gif" border="0" alt="continue"></td></tr>
</table>
<br>
<ul>
Forget your password ?<br>

Click <a class="allpage" href="javascript:ajaxpage('emailpassword.asp', 'content');">here</a> to have password emailed to you.
</ul>
</td>
</form

If there is a missing tag, is IE automatically fixing the HTML code and FF is not?

Thanks.

alpro
11-30-2006, 01:58 AM
Hello Every one, I have questions pleas. I have a problem on my website, which is when I view it on IE explore is shows correctly but on Firefox, it looks like spread (the table moves). Pleas someone pleas tell me what sees to be the problem or mistake. pleas pleas pleas.. my web page is http://treatmentfirst.com/
my page was design dreamwaver table
Thank you :)

djr33
11-30-2006, 08:02 AM
Hmm... nevermind. I must have miscounted before. Sorry.
Not really sure, then.