PDA

View Full Version : Ultimate Fade-in slideshow doesn't work with IE7



duey
11-27-2006, 09:53 AM
1) Script Title: Ultimate Fade-in slideshow

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

3) Describe problem:

Just a quick general question for which I apologize if an answer is already posted elsewhere (I couldn't find an answer in my searches): Does IE7 not support this script at all, or is there a fix to make it compatible w/ IE7?

Thanks for any info.

codeexploiter
11-27-2006, 10:19 AM
The script works in IE 7 without any problem. What is the exact problem you are facing while trying to run this script.

duey
11-27-2006, 09:40 PM
Hrmm. A client reported that some users w/ IE7 couldn't load the script. I don't have IE7 and haven't had a chance to test yet. I thought it was just one of IE7's many bugs and thought I would just ask here first. I should've looked into it first. So, as long as you say the script is still fine w/ IE7 then it must be something not script related which I can (try to) figure out. Thanks!

Glen_S
11-27-2006, 11:48 PM
I use this slideshow in a page, and I've tested it with IE7 and its fine. Is your client's IE7 blocking the javascript? and they just didn't notice?

maxion
03-26-2007, 12:57 AM
I've to agree: The Ulimate FadeIn Slideshow doesn't work with IE7 ...

test: http://www.fieg.co.at

The slideshow is used on different pages, with different pics. The script (Function "fadeshow") will be called with different pic-arrays ...
and works fine with IE 6, firefox, opera - but NOT with IE7 (other Javascripts works correctly with IE7!!)

Errormessage: 'Undefined' is NULL or no Object', I can't locate the ErrorLine ;-(

I've no idea, how to resolve the problem ...
Thanks for hints/help

jscheuer1
03-26-2007, 05:50 AM
I've to agree: The Ulimate FadeIn Slideshow doesn't work with IE7 ...

test: http://www.fieg.co.at

The slideshow is used on different pages, with different pics. The script (Function "fadeshow") will be called with different pic-arrays ...
and works fine with IE 6, firefox, opera - but NOT with IE7 (other Javascripts works correctly with IE7!!)

Errormessage: 'Undefined' is NULL or no Object', I can't locate the ErrorLine ;-(

I've no idea, how to resolve the problem ...
Thanks for hints/help

You are not using the official release version of the script and:

Your page is in violation of Dynamic Drive's usage terms (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/notice.htm), which, among other things, state that the script credit must appear in the source code of the page(s) using the script. Please reinstate the notice first.

maxion
03-26-2007, 11:36 AM
Your page is in violation of Dynamic Drive's usage terms,...oops, in fact I didn't read the usage terms exactly - credit notice is placed on EACH page now


You are not using the official release version of the script I replaced the orginial version...
the only difference is, that
var fadeimages is defined in the 'CDATA-Section' on each page (pic-array changes for each project ...)

The Errormessage in IE7 is
(Line 99) 'undefined' is NULL or no Object
I can't get rid of this error ;-(

I hope for help, because I w'd like to use this cool script for my databased pics ...
thx, marion

jscheuer1
03-26-2007, 03:13 PM
OK, well and thanks for reinstating the notice, I'm no longer getting any error. However, the error line number and description you report seems to indicate that the array of images may have a minor problem with it and/or there may be a link tag enclosing the slide show. The first problem would be something that makes IE think that there is at least one additional yet not fully defined and/or a fully undefined array entry in the array. This is hard but not impossible to do with the template array format but, if you were to use a different array format, it becomes easier to give IE this impression. The second problem arises when you have something like this:


<a href="whatever.htm">
<script type="text/javascript">
//new fadeshow(theimages, fadewidth, fadeheight, borderwidth, delay, pause(stop show), displayorder)
new fadeshow(fadeimages,260,156,0,2500,1,"R");
</script>
</a>

If I have misunderstood and the page you linked to in your post also has no error for you in IE 7, then I would need a link to a page that does show the error. But, if the link you gave is where you are getting the error, it may have to do with your browser settings and/or possibly have something to do with Vista, if you are using Vista.

You also may just need to clear your cache and refresh the page.

maxion
03-26-2007, 04:46 PM
I'm confused ... I always get errors:
http://www.fieg.co.at/index.php
http://www.fieg.co.at/gdetail.php?projnr=GA006

Clearing Cache, Reloading, Restarting, IE-Security low/middle,
hard-coded pic-array directly in js-script ...
no affect, I can't get rid of error

Environment: WinXP SP2, IE 7.05730.11

slideshow has no <a> tag

I'm really interested, but without any idea

g, marion

jscheuer1
03-26-2007, 05:05 PM
Do you have a third party firewall?

maxion
03-26-2007, 07:13 PM
yes, I use a firwall and it's the same - with or without fw ;-(

g, marion

jscheuer1
03-26-2007, 08:48 PM
Well, I am very sorry then. If I cannot see or detect any error in your live page hear using IE 7 (I have the same set up as far as OS and browser version), there isn't much I can suggest. I would make sure, if I were you that the array being output by your code is a valid array for IE 7. The way to do that would be to make sure that the length is the same in IE 7 as in other browsers. Paste this into the address bar and hit enter:


javascript:alert(fadeimages.length)

If it doesn't return the same number for the same page in IE 7 as in FF and Opera, your array generation sub-routine is somehow letting you down.

I also tested extensively in Opera and FF hoping that one of those might turn up a non-fatal error that could explain the problem in IE 7 but, no luck.

gn0stik
03-26-2007, 08:59 PM
Your slideshow works perfectly from here as well, I'm running IE7, on winxp sp2, and all images load without errors.

It also works on my vista box.

Both machines have firewall enabled.

Rich

maxion
03-26-2007, 10:20 PM
@jscheuer1
adress-bar should'nt work (I hope so -> security!!), I checked fadeimages.length too: it's correct

ok - slideshows seem to works on your IE7, fine (thx 2 all)
but my system fails, currently there's no alternative test-environment (my friends aren't pc- freaks)

Php-scripts are valid XHTML (CSS), the offline (Homesite5) IE-Preview results in (known) XHTML-Errormsg: 'XML-Page cant't be displayed ...'
Last experience:
I changed offline coding (doctype-declaration without xml-version...) and got at least THIS IE debugging: fadeshow is undefined
maybe a XHTML-problem (script-import)?

I suspect, that european MS-SW is different from USA??: you get correct slideshows, I get errors & no pics ... (I'm not a pc-guru, but neither a newbie)

If you habe any idea - I'm interested: I will resolve this problem ;-)
thx 4 help!

jscheuer1
03-27-2007, 01:28 PM
I have a feeling that you are over-complicating this because of some relatively obscure glitch in your browser and/or OS set up as regards their settings and/or third party add ons. If you suspect it is the:

european MS-SW

whatever that is, we have several EU participants, perhaps one of those will check out your page. As for how scripts appear in any kind of preview mode, unless the previewer is specifically designed to diagnose scripts, don't even bother.

It probably has nothing to do with this case but, to be on the safe side, I'd try redoing the page as HTML 4.01 strict and as HTML 4.01 transitional, each without any xml, use these DOCTYPES and opening html tags -

strict:


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
<html>


transitional:


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/1999/REC-html401-19991224/loose.dtd">
<html>


Validate the HTML in each case. My reason being that you really shouldn't use XHTML or xml for your document in IE, it can't parse it but will sometimes get confused trying.

maxion
03-27-2007, 03:54 PM
W3C-Validation is ok: all pages are valid XHTML-Transitional
Using pure HTML doesn't eliminate the Error ...
The error (Line 99) is exactly here:

fadeshow.prototype.populateslide=function(picobj, picindex){
...
picobj.innerHTML=slideHTML
}

It's a known IE Bug, would you know a alternative solution? (I don't have many experiene with JS)
Maybe using the div-id?

thx

jscheuer1
03-27-2007, 05:09 PM
It's not known to me. Who is it known to? That would seem to indicate an open tag somewhere outside (above) the script that is getting closed in the script when the script should be closing its own tags or an invalid (undefined, null, etc.) picobj or picindex from an array with an extra comma in it or some other problem.

My vote however, is for something somewhat unique to your set up as, no other users have reported this problem with your page yet. That could change though.

maxion
03-27-2007, 09:23 PM
sorry, infos was'nt exactly: IE7 bug innerhtml concerns mainly forms(options/select)
Finally, I checked, that on IE7 given crossobj (picobj too) is undefined (and not innerHTML fails!)

Visiting Ultimate Fade-in slideshow (v1.5) (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm)
on my system results in:
Error (Line 106): 'undefined' is Null or no Object -> no display of pics ...

Seems to be a special bug on my system (IE 7.0.xxx), using XHTML or HTML doesn't matter ...
(Guess, that my config isn't unique ...)

thx for time and effort on supporting my troubles
(at least the credit notices on my pages are finally correct *g*)

greatings from vienna

courtney
04-13-2007, 06:45 PM
hello there. i'm having the same problem with the script. it works in firefox, but not in IE. i did it exactly as the instruction said to. but i get an Unknown runtime error on the line that holds this code: picobj.innerHTML=slideHTML

i've tried the suggestions here, but it's still not working. does anybody have any other ideas?

i haven't been able to find a slideshow that i like as much as this one, but i need it to work in IE!

any help is appreciated.

jscheuer1
04-13-2007, 06:51 PM
hello there. i'm having the same problem with the script. it works in firefox, but not in IE. i did it exactly as the instruction said to. but i get an Unknown runtime error on the line that holds this code: picobj.innerHTML=slideHTML

i've tried the suggestions here, but it's still not working. does anybody have any other ideas?

i haven't been able to find a slideshow that i like as much as this one, but i need it to work in IE!

any help is appreciated.

Please supply a link to your problem page. That sounds like you have an open <a> tag in front of the in body script call.

courtney
04-13-2007, 07:38 PM
thanks, john.

here's the page: http://www.coloradospringslofts.com/available-lofts-new.html

i had a feeling it was something like that, i just can't figure out what i need to fix!

jscheuer1
04-13-2007, 08:03 PM
Yes, that's what it was, use this instead:


<td><div align="center"><a href="http://www.newhomeconnection.com/homes.php?id=512">Reference #880-01-000</a> <br />
<script type="text/javascript">
//new fadeshow(IMAGES_ARRAY_NAME, slideshow_width, slideshow_height, borderwidth, delay, pause (0=no, 1=yes), optionalRandomOrder)
new fadeshow(fadeimages, 200, 134, 0, 3000, 1, "R")
</script><br />
<a href="http://www.newhomeconnection.com/homes.php?id=512">2 Bedrooms - 2 Bathrooms<br />
Starting at $505,000</a></div></td>
<td><div align="center"><a href="http://www.newhomeconnection.com/homes.php?id=511">Reference #880-02-000</a> <br />
<script type="text/javascript">
//new fadeshow(IMAGES_ARRAY_NAME, slideshow_width, slideshow_height, borderwidth, delay, pause (0=no, 1=yes), optionalRandomOrder)
new fadeshow(fadeimages2, 200, 134, 0, 3000, 1, "R")
</script><br />
<a href="http://www.newhomeconnection.com/homes.php?id=511">4 Bedrooms - 2 Bathrooms<br />
Starting at $615,000</a></div></td>

Scroll the code block to see all changes. If you want the shows also to be linked, configure them here:


var fadeimages=new Array()
//SET IMAGE PATHS. Extend or contract array as needed
fadeimages[0]=["images/lofts/880-01-000/1.jpg", "http://www.newhomeconnection.com/homes.php?id=512", ""] //image with link syntax
fadeimages[1]=["images/lofts/880-01-000/2.jpg", "http://www.newhomeconnection.com/homes.php?id=512", ""] //image with link syntax
fadeimages[2]=["images/lofts/880-01-000/3.jpg", "http://www.newhomeconnection.com/homes.php?id=512", ""] //image with link syntax

var fadeimages2=new Array() //2nd array set example. Remove or add more sets as needed.
//SET IMAGE PATHS. Extend or contract array as needed
fadeimages2[0]=["images/lofts/880-02-000/1.jpg", "http://www.newhomeconnection.com/homes.php?id=511", ""] //image with link syntax
fadeimages2[1]=["images/lofts/880-02-000/2.jpg", "http://www.newhomeconnection.com/homes.php?id=511", ""] //image with link syntax
fadeimages2[2]=["images/lofts/880-02-000/3.jpg", "http://www.newhomeconnection.com/homes.php?id=511", ""] //image with link syntax

var fadebgcolor="white"

courtney
04-13-2007, 08:14 PM
thank you so much! i tried messing around with those links, but i guess i just didn't mess around with the right part.

thanks again!

movealpha
06-18-2010, 10:39 AM
hi, great script!

I have a similar problem using it in IE7. The slideshow works fine until the page is unloaded (ie. refreshing, moving to a different page or closing IE7)... at which point I get this error message;

'undefined' is null or not an object
at line 55 character 143

I've tracked it down to this line in the jquery.min code;

if(!b){d=a.type.split(".");a.type=d.shift();f=new RegExp("(^|\\.)"+d.slice(0).sort().join("\\.(?:.*\\.)?")+"(\\.|$)")}e=c.data(this,"events");d=e[a.type];if(e&&d){d=d.slice(0);e=0;for(var j=d.length;e<j;e++){var i=d[e];if(b||f.test(i.namespace)){a.handler=i.handler;a.data=i.data;a.handleObj=i;i=i.handler.apply(this,arguments);if(i!==w){a.result=i;if(i===false){a.preventDefaul t();a.stopPropagation()}}if(a.isImmediatePropagationStopped())break}}}return a.result},props:"altKey attrChange attrName bubbles button cancelable charCode clientX clientY ctrlKey currentTarget data detail eventPhase fromElement handler keyCode layerX layerY metaKey newValue offsetX offsetY originalTarget pageX pageY prevValue relatedNode relatedTarget screenX screenY shiftKey srcElement target toElement view wheelDelta which".split(" "),

the bit at character 143 is;
d=e[a.type]
I've highlighted it in the code above

I've managed to get round this problem by wrapping the problem bit of code in a try...catch, ie;
try{d=e[a.type]} catch(err){}

same as the other posts here... fine in IE8, Firefox etc

the page in question is;
http://www.snh.gov.uk/

I've managed a workaround but I'd be cursious to know if there is a better fix.

thanks in advance,

jscheuer1
05-12-2012, 03:21 AM
I've closed this thread because it's so old and it was brought to my attention that a spam post had been added to it.

However, in answer to movealpha's question, you could try updating to a more recent version of jQuery. That often solves issues like this. But first make sure you don't have any invalid HTML on the page.

If you or anyone else wants more help on this topic, please start a new thread.