PDA

View Full Version : Script to block Altavista translation!



Gabber
01-23-2005, 04:57 PM
this might sound funny but I actually need a script for blocking altavista translation...
I know there is one for PHP nuke, but I need javascript or html or something non server side...
anyone with ideias?

cr3ative
01-23-2005, 06:50 PM
Woah woah.

I need to ask why you would want to block Altavista. What's stopping me use the over 500 other online translators to get your site?

I don't think a script like that would be practical at all, really.

cr3ative

Gabber
01-24-2005, 07:10 PM
wrong...
I have pages in english... others in portuguese. by translating the whole site, when you get to the english pages using english translation all gets fu...nny.
:P
So I need those pages not to allow translation...

cr3ative
01-24-2005, 08:34 PM
AKAIK, you can't block one site reading another; that's all a translator does, it reads the site and processes it. To your server, it's just like any other page being read.

I believe, just for that (fact?), it's not possible.

cr3ative

Gabber
01-25-2005, 12:52 AM
hum, and using redirect? since altavista works by redirect address?
using the altavista origin to redirect to the original?

because altavista really mixes up contents in english... :|

Gabber
01-28-2005, 03:29 PM
any news?

cr3ative
01-28-2005, 04:07 PM
1. I think it's a bad idea
2. I think it's impossible

Sorry. I'm out of suggestions on this case.

cr3ative

Iiro
12-17-2005, 08:39 AM
why do you want to do that?impossible!

Twey
12-17-2005, 10:21 AM
It's not impossible, though it can't be done client-side. It is a bad idea. If your users know how to use Babelfish, they'll have no problem opening a new tab/window to view both translated and non-translated.