PDA

View Full Version : what's validate(e) in form validation

mtran
11-02-2006, 11:52 PM
Hi,

I'm new to js, and learn from some tutorial about form validation, and wondering:
Why use "e" or something like that. What is it, and what is it for compared to just check_val in the following ex?
What other common ways of doing this same thing given that the form is much longer?
Thanks!

function check_val(e) {

if (e.name.value==''){
alert("Please enter your name.")
e.name.focus()
return false;}

return true;}

Also why IE doesn't gray out the disabled field while FF grays it out, as in below. How to make it work in IE?

document.formName.fieldName.disabled = true;

jscheuer1
11-03-2006, 11:37 AM
e is often the event that triggered the function in all browsers except for IE. However, in this case, it looks like it is the element itself. It is hard to be certain without seeing how the function is called. If it is the element, it would be called something like so:

<form action="#" onsubmit="check_val(this);">

To answer your other question, the field is still disabled in IE, just not grayed out. If a test input is disabled, it cannot be modified. The gray color is just the way FF does it cosmetically, other browsers are different but, nearly all, including IE, do disable the field.

You could add to your code:

document.formName.fieldName.style.backgroundColor='#cccccc';

to also get that grayed out look in IE and:

document.formName.fieldName.style.backgroundColor='#ffffff;

to return it to white when you set its disabled=false.

Twey
11-03-2006, 04:09 PM
document.formName.fieldName.style.backgroundColor='#cccccc';You should use
document.forms.formName.elements.fieldName.style.backgroundColor='#cccccc';I don't believe that forms being available as properties of the document object, or elements being available as properties of a form, are defined in any standard.