PDA

View Full Version : Images take a long time to load?

Rich Walker
10-31-2006, 04:46 PM
Hi there,

I wonder if anyone could help me please. I am currently designing a website as a favour for a friend. It's my first time using HTML, Dreamweaver etc. So please bear with me...

The site is: www.afrotv.co.uk (http://www.afrotv.co.uk)

My problem is that the images take a long time to load (even on my broadband connection).

The size of the image folder is 716kb for the whole site.

Is there anyway i could reduce the time to load these images, or have I just made a complete mess of the design phase and made my images too big?

Hope someone can help.

Thanks a lot.

Best regards,

Rich Walker.

djr33
11-01-2006, 12:41 AM
You can make the images smaller (by compressing them more).
Depending on your server, it might be slow so you could use a faster server to do it, but that's obviously a hassle.
It might be your computer if your cache is close to full or system runs slowly. Try clearing your cache and running less at once.
Aside from that, no, there is no way to transfer data faster. Sorry.

codeexploiter
11-01-2006, 08:46 AM
if you are dealing lot of images it is obvious that it will take some time to complete the image loading.

Since you are using the jpg images i don't think it can be compressed again already its compressed.

If you can avoid the unnecessary usage of images in your site (in your site you've used the spacer image extensively).

Why don't you try to use a table less layout rather than table based layout.

djr33
11-01-2006, 09:40 AM
JPGs can be recompressed. The format allows for 1-100% quality. (0 might be allowed; not sure). Anything about 90 is almost never distinguishable from 100, and usually 30 looks just fine.
Saving the JPGs at lower quality can help this.
Converting them in some cases might help as well, if you happen to have one image that has just a few colors, for example, a GIF would do well.