PDA

View Full Version : a design question

tvfoto
10-24-2006, 05:24 PM
Hi all,

I am confused about how to design a modual flash site that make it easy for me to extend and/or remove portions of my site. I am a photographer,and I want to build a site that show case my works. I have N numbers of categories and each category contains 2 different format, horizontal & vertical. Each format will have atleast 20 photos with some kind of transition.

a) What is the most efficient way to build this site?
b) Do I build MC for each category or should I build them all as external swfs?
c) I have neve get to understand how to control the timing for all the MCs in the main time line, so if you could unclog my brain..i would very much appreciated. Say I have 1 mc with 100 frames , other has 200 frames. Is that how many frames I need to have in my main time line to place the 2 MCs and each other will have to be away from each other that many frame before one can be played after the other? Or I just create 2 frames(in the main time line) next to each otherand loaded with the 2 MCs and tell actionscript to do the timing?
d) and I do I need preloaders on every category/MC/SWF , I guess?

Thanks

Twey
10-24-2006, 06:32 PM
I am confused about how to design a modual flash siteFirstly, don't. Flash should be used to augment an HTML site, with appropriate HTML fallbacks for those browsers without Flash. To design an entire site in Flash is to make a most unpleasant blunder, although one lamentably commonly seen.
a) What is the most efficient way to build this site?Nothing you've specified above actually requires Flash. It should be quite possible to create the site using plain HTML and Javascript, and the end result should be much more accessible.
d) and I do I need preloaders on every category/MC/SWF , I guess?Alternatively, you could have a single preloader on entry. I think it would be less irritating to users to have a separate preloader for each category, though, yes.

tvfoto