PDA

View Full Version : I need help learning how to make 3D animations....

Smice
10-19-2006, 10:23 PM
Hello, I am needing to learn how to make 3D animaitons. These animations are supposed to be animals such as dogs, cats, horses, bunnies and things like that. Not to mention that I am a complete newbie to this heh heh. :rolleyes:

Twey
10-19-2006, 10:27 PM
Check out Blender (http://www.blender3d.org/).

djr33
10-19-2006, 10:40 PM
Creating something like that is very hard. Organic animation (animals, or even cloth) is really tough to get right.

Blender is a good option, 'cause it's free.

However, depending on how realistic you need the images, you might want to look into professional solutions (3D Studio Max, Maya, etc.).

Doing realistic stuff like this is hard for even big movie studios, so you should start slowly.

If you just want cartoon style, then that's great... go with blender.

If not, try blender and see how it works. If you end up needing more, try another program, but blender, if used correctly, is actually very powerful within itself.

Twey
10-19-2006, 10:53 PM
I find that Blender is like ASM: it can do just about anything. It's not necessarily easy, or fast, but it gets there and it can do it, with skill and patience.

djr33
10-19-2006, 11:24 PM
Skin, fabric, hair, realistic muscle/flesh movement, eyes, etc. are all INCREDIBLY hard to do.

Even the pro apps wouldn't necessary do this well.

Companies like ILM still have trouble. They actually write most of their own software, 'cause the other stuff just won't do :p

I'm not saying blender isn't a good program. It's great, and I've seen amazing things done in it.

However, "animals" as the OP said, are tough if realism is required.

the-disturbed
10-22-2006, 02:29 AM
LIGHTWAVE!!!!

sure its like 3 grand but u didnt hear it from me but beleive it or not u can actually *cough*download*cough* software.