PDA

View Full Version : iframes in mac browsers...



vacatia
10-08-2006, 08:45 PM
Hi there...I created a website using iframes and people I know with Macs are saying that they're not showing up properly (one says his one computer with opera can kind of see the whole page, but his other computer with safari doesn't work on it at all..apparently).

Is there an easy way to fix this, I'm not willing to redo the webpage and I'd rather not tell people they need to update their browsers or just not use macs to view the website...


Thanks in advance

djr33
10-09-2006, 01:54 AM
I'm not sure. Iframes work great on my mac. No problems.
We'd need a link (or to see the source code) to understand.
I use a mac, and I'd be happy to test for you.
The "mac" browsers... there are 4, that I can think off offhand:
>>>Safari IS the "mac" browser... comes with the computer, an apple product. It does have varying ways of seeing html from other browsers, but i've usually just had problems with javascript and a few formatting things, like tables looking slightly different, for example, not iframes.

>>>IE 5.0 (5.5? maybe?) is the latest version of Internet Explorer for the mac. I wouldn't be surprised if this has issues. It usually does. But, again, it's more related to javascript than iframes. If it works in IE 5 for mac, I generally assume the page is coded great, because the browser is so old and bad that it rarely does ;)
>>>Mozilla... but this is basically identical to the PC version, from what I can tell. I'd assume linux is the same. Mozilla usually works great. Wouldn't expect problems on here.
>>>Mozilla's company/organization also has another browser available for only macs, I believe. Haven't had the need to try it myself, and don't really understand since they offer mozilla for macs anyway. Can't comment here.

As for Opera, haven't used it, so wouldn't know.

So... has everyone on a PC had no problems? I'd assume it's just something wrong with the code that might happen to display well in new versions of internet explorer. Does mozilla work for it?


Note that this also assumes Mac OSX, not OX9 or below. Old macs used to use IE 5, I believe, and not sure if there was another browser that came with it... Safari is new. I wouldn't be surprised at all if OS9/below users were to have problems.

vacatia
10-09-2006, 03:42 AM
Hey thanks for responding....
It seems to work fine on PCs...all the frames are loading and the content and everything.

On (newer?) versions of safari it seems ok...but not on firefox...and someone else using safari said they couldn't see the content...

Here's a link to the site:

www.thesketchersons.com

djr33
10-09-2006, 07:37 AM
Hmm..... interesting.
I don't have access to my mac tonight, just this (PC) laptop.
I'll check when I get a chance.

djr33
10-09-2006, 09:24 PM
Tested. Mozilla on my mac is fine.
Safari came up with a white blank area.
this doesn't mean it doesn't support iframes, or the warning of "your browser doesn't support iframes", between the <iframe></iframe> tags would have been displayed.
After more testing, I found that the problem has nothing to do with the iframe itself, but with the pages you're including.
They just don't load on a mac.
I believe it is due to the frameset. That probably just screws things up. Framesets are a page, then they call pages... you just have done a frameset ON the page, and specified no frames... just content.
Safari appears, in this case, to be following what makes sense... don't display the improperly coded page, while the other browsers are being nice and ignoring it.


w3school's web validator shows this (and a couple other things).... http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thesketchersons.com%2Fmedianew.htm


Also, in Mozilla (didn't notice it in safari) the CAST menu button/image is offset vertically by a pixel or two. The rest seem ok.

vacatia
10-17-2006, 12:28 AM
Tested. Mozilla on my mac is fine.
Safari came up with a white blank area.
this doesn't mean it doesn't support iframes, or the warning of "your browser doesn't support iframes", between the <iframe></iframe> tags would have been displayed.
After more testing, I found that the problem has nothing to do with the iframe itself, but with the pages you're including.
They just don't load on a mac.
I believe it is due to the frameset. That probably just screws things up. Framesets are a page, then they call pages... you just have done a frameset ON the page, and specified no frames... just content.
Safari appears, in this case, to be following what makes sense... don't display the improperly coded page, while the other browsers are being nice and ignoring it.


w3school's web validator shows this (and a couple other things).... http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thesketchersons.com%2Fmedianew.htm


Also, in Mozilla (didn't notice it in safari) the CAST menu button/image is offset vertically by a pixel or two. The rest seem ok.

Yeah I noticed at work (although on a PC) that the cast button was up a pixel...I have no idea why that's happening.

I'm a little confused of the above, I'm just not sure what I should do to make it work?

mwinter
10-17-2006, 12:46 AM
w3school's web validator shows this (and a couple other things).... http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thesketchersons.com%2Fmedianew.htm

Arrgh! What?!

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) and W3Schools are in no way related, and the latter do not offer a validation service. Inferring anything else lends credibility to that latter that is definitely not deserved.

Mike


I can't comment on the thread, by the way, as I don't have a Mac.

djr33
10-17-2006, 04:49 AM
Oh? sorry... I thought that "w3" and "w3" were related ;)
My bad :p

As for fixing it.... you have something wrong with the page that is being included in the iframe.
the iframe itself is fine.
the page IN the iframe is wrong.
They just don't load on a mac.
I believe it is due to the frameset. That probably just screws things up. Framesets are a page, then they call pages... you just have done a frameset ON the page, and specified no frames... just content.I mean the frameset on the included page. you don't need a frameset there. remove that.

RITNMD
10-18-2006, 07:20 AM
ok, im on a mac and i am having problems with iframes too. The place where my iframe is suppose to be i only see the background image of the page im on and not the external page it is suppose to load. When I tested it in dreamweaver and previewed it in firefox it worked fine, but when i uploaded it to teh server it looked completely different online.

http://www.rit.edu/~kjb3311/imm/v2/test2.html



<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />
<title>Kyle Beikirch - Project 2</title>
</head>

<style type="text/css">
<!--
body {
background-image: url(images/bg.jpg);
}
.style1 {
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
color: #EBEBCC;
font-size: 36px;
}
-->
</style>
<body>
<div align="center">
<table width="70%" border="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td height="130" valign="top"><div align="center" class="style1">Kyle Beikirch</div></td>
</tr>
</table>
<iframe src="test.html" width="600" height="390" frameborder="0" id="body" name="body" scrolling="yes"> If you can see this, your browser doesn't
understand IFRAME. However, we'll still <a href="test.html">link</a> you to the file.</iframe>
</div>
</body>
</html>

djr33
10-18-2006, 07:26 AM
i've explained the problem.

The INCLUDED PAGES... the SRC's of the iframes, NOT the iframes themselves, are the problems.
They don't load by themselves.

This is due, I believe, to an extra frameset in the code. ***IN THE INCLUDED PAGE, NOT! THE MAIN PAGE***

Remove that.

Fixed.

RITNMD
10-18-2006, 07:39 AM
sry, i feel like an idiot now, i fixed the problem.

djr33
10-18-2006, 07:59 AM
Oh... hmmm.

I misread your post. I thought it was about the original question.
Glad you got it fixed. Was it the same issue, by chance? Odd coincidence, if it was.

I wasn't yelling at you anyway.... the original poster didn't seem to understand... I just wanted to make it very clear. it's an easy fix, but not sure if I made it clear enough before.

vacatia
12-05-2006, 12:55 AM
Oh... hmmm.

I misread your post. I thought it was about the original question.
Glad you got it fixed. Was it the same issue, by chance? Odd coincidence, if it was.

I wasn't yelling at you anyway.... the original poster didn't seem to understand... I just wanted to make it very clear. it's an easy fix, but not sure if I made it clear enough before.

Hi there,

Thanks for the help, I feel pretty slow right now though! I've been removing the frameset tags on each individual page, and I do believe it's working...

vacatia
12-05-2006, 01:10 AM
Ok I think I've fixed the majority of the pages, but my friend says he can't see the media and the pictures sections still...i have no idea why, i didn't do anything different to them...


www.thesketchersons.com

djr33
12-05-2006, 02:22 AM
Glad it works.
Not sure about the pictures... just check on the code and see if it's still got some issues...

vacatia
12-05-2006, 03:14 AM
Glad it works.
Not sure about the pictures... just check on the code and see if it's still got some issues...

Hey it's not actual pictures, it's the photos page and the media page, I used the exact coding as I did for the other ones which are now working (I removed the framesets in those as well), so I have absolutely no idea why it wouldn't work now!

djr33
12-05-2006, 06:00 AM
Just checked.
It works fine in both Safari and Mozilla (mac).

It may just be your friend's computer. Or maybe they have a different version(s) of the browser(s).

vacatia
12-06-2006, 04:25 AM
Ok thanks!

daddiekat
06-28-2007, 06:57 AM
Hi All, I'm creating my first website for our R/C Flying Club and some of the members with Mac's using Safari advise they cannot see the content of the slide in menus or the scrollers on various pages.

Our site is at "www.rcfcbc.com (http://www.rcfcbc.com)" .

Can you have a looksee and provide any pointers on how to enable these pages in Safari??

Thanks for your kind help in advance.

Pete.

djr33
06-28-2007, 10:00 AM
Not having any trouble with Safari 2.0.4.

It may be something you can check yourself, too, now that Apple has release Safari 3 with a PC version.

daddiekat
06-28-2007, 02:52 PM
Not having any trouble with Safari 2.0.4.

It may be something you can check yourself, too, now that Apple has release Safari 3 with a PC version.

I downloaded Safari 3 for PC and determined the IFrame Scroller is working well but, I cannot get the http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/davidmenu.htm Dynamic Effects Slide In Menu to be visible in Safari.

I'll try a couple of the other menus.................... Pete.