PDA

View Full Version : link Problem in Utimate fade in slideshow

Dudger
10-03-2006, 05:48 PM
1) Script Title: Ultimate Fade-in slideshow (v1.5)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...nslideshow.htm

3) Describe problem: Cant pull up a local page

Hi all
Im a total newbie to using scripts - so please bear with me

Im using an upper and lower page with drop down menu in the top page reflecting into the bottom page (That was the first script i ever used - this is the second) - when i include the slideshow script it works great and i can link to external web sites so they open in the bottom window.
However i cant seem to open a page from the same directory as the site ?

I thaught that as it was in the same directory i just entered 'pagename.htm' in the right spot and bobs yer uncle -

but it does nowt :(

Help

jscheuer1
10-04-2006, 05:02 AM
When you configure a link in this slide show, you add a target, if desired:

fadeimages[2]=["photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"]

In the above example, the target (red) is a new window. It doesn't matter where the link is to (green in the above). Whatever target (including empty quotes for no target) gets the link to open in a particular place on your layout will work for a local as well as for an off site link. If you are having trouble with a local link, first make sure it is a valid link. If it is, use the same target syntax you found successful for the off site link.

Dudger
10-04-2006, 10:37 PM
Cheers for that John - had already checked what you describe - cant find a fault other than it does not work. - works on remote sites no problem - works if i call the target page from my menu - or put the target page on a remote web site i have and call it from the fade in script ?

Cant seem to see the wood for the trees :(

jscheuer1
10-05-2006, 06:29 AM
When you say you cannot pull up a local page, do you mean a page on the same server as the script or one on your local computer?