PDA

View Full Version : simple calculation

Redsim
09-30-2006, 03:59 AM
hye experts..
im a very newbie baby with javascript and need some help.

Its about a match calculation
my problem is so simple, there is 2 drop down list
what im trying to do is, how can i add the selected value of dropdownA and dropdownB
and then display the value of it

sorry all..im to naive :o

jscheuer1
09-30-2006, 06:50 AM
Technically speaking, there is no selected value of a drop down other than that assigned to its selected object (its selected option's value attribute). One can get the text object of the selected option as well. In either case this is a string variable, not a number variable. If it happens to be a number it can be converted to a number variable and then math may be performed on it.

For anyone to understand what you are trying to do though would require at least an example of a typical situation in which you wish to carry out these operations. Where you want the result displayed would be helpful too. An idea of what this would be used for, even better.

Twey
09-30-2006, 11:46 AM
<form action="">
<select onchange="document.getElementById('mOutput').firstChild.nodeValue = parseFloat(this.value) + parseFloat(this.form.elements['two'].value);" name="one">
<option value="1">One</option>
<option value="2">Two</option>
<option value="3">Three</option>
</select>
<select onchange="document.getElementById('mOutput').firstChild.nodeValue = parseFloat(this.value) + parseFloat(this.form.elements['one'].value);" name="two">
</select>
</form>
<p id="mOutput"> </p>

jscheuer1
09-30-2006, 03:18 PM
Twey, a good basic overview but, it makes certain assumptions about the form that may or may not not apply to what Redsim has in mind and I'm reasonably sure that it will not work in IE. In IE you need the select's this.options[this.selectedIndex].value where you have its this.value. And similarly for the value of the other select when used in the onchange event of one select.

Twey