PDA

View Full Version : Warp Speed 'Blending Image Slideshow' with Mozilla



morgandy
09-14-2006, 02:18 AM
1) Script Title: Blending Image Slide Show

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/image4.htm

3) Describe problem: Script works fine in IE, but in Mozilla, Safari, probably others, it rotates through the pics at blinding speed. See http://www.c-sea.org, upper right side where the slideshow is (compare in Mozilla and IE)

Is there anyway to correct this without ripping out a lot of effects?

thx!

morgandy
09-14-2006, 10:24 PM
Any ideas folks??? I really could use some guidance on this.

thx!!

jscheuer1
09-15-2006, 03:18 AM
You have two different scripts on the page that use the variable 'slidespeed' - the blending script and the Conveyor script. Don't confuse this with the fact that the blending script has two script blocks, those count as one script for these purposes. In one script, each instance of 'slidespeed' should be be changed to another name. However, due to the way you have the scripts ordered on the page and the way the blending script handles its speed calculation, you could get away with just changing this:


var blenddelay=(ie)? document.images.slide.filters[0].duration*1000 : 0

to:


var blenddelay=(ie)? document.images.slide.filters[0].duration*1000 : 1750

jscheuer1
09-15-2006, 03:33 AM
More information:

For the blending script to work at all in browsers other than IE that happen to support document.all (like Opera), this line should be changed:


var ie=document.all

to:


var ie=document.body.filters

Also, the blending effect is for IE only. For a more cross browser blending type slide show see Dynamic Drive's:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

But, use this version:

http://home.comcast.net/~jscheuer1/side/files/ufade_safari.htm

which is updated to fade in Safari and Opera and to correct for a typo that will throw an error in Konqueror.

morgandy
09-15-2006, 03:35 AM
Oh to be a wizard!!! That did it, I never would've figured that out. Now I'm noticing my css file isn't working in Mozilla as it is in IE. (I never should have volunteered as the webmaster!) :)

Thanks so much!

morgandy
09-15-2006, 03:39 AM
John, I replied before I saw your post...I'll work on your suggestions tomorrow, and report back on success/failure.

thx again so much..

Amy.