PDA

View Full Version : Ajax Tabs Content script minor problem/question..



SolidSnke
09-13-2006, 12:24 PM
1) Script Title: Ajax Tabs Content script

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxtabscontent/

3) Describe problem: Hmm very simply, I have my project I am working on for my web site 98% done but ran into a minor sang that maybe this script cannot even do, or maybe I am doing something wrong.

I have, to illustrate my problem, taken the demo files from the web site and posted them up on mine, http://thedrunkgeeks.com/demo.htm, and I am trying to make a link in one tab call another external page into the current tab.

Let me state it again, I call an external page, which also has links on it, when they click those links I would like it to open in the same tab that external page opened. All pages are within the domain; maybe I am using the wrong control. I have tried an IFRAME and do not like the results.

At the location above I have set up, like I said a demo, where the dog tab has a link to the otter tab.

I get this error when I click the link;

Line: 27
Char: 1
Error: 'parentNode' is null or not an object
Code: 0
URL: http://thedrunkgeeks.com/demo.htm

Any help would be appreciated as I am not very good with JavaScript, thanks in advance.

SolidSnke
09-13-2006, 12:31 PM
Sorry, I forgot to mention I am using the following line to open the link;


<a href="javascript:ajaxpage('ajaxfiles/external4.htm', 'ajaxcontentarea');">Otter Page</a>

Also there is one other thing I do not understand, what is the;


function ajaxpage(url, containerid, targetobj)

URL: Truely the url to the next page I am guessing

CONTAINERID: Would this be the rel= segment? and can these be set to anything or is there something specific to be put in here

TARGETOBJ: Do not know what this does

Again, thanks in advance.

synergy
09-13-2006, 08:52 PM
I am also looking for this solution
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13070

I don't really know JS that well, but I'm sure it's a conflict with the two scripts on the same page.

SolidSnke
09-14-2006, 12:18 AM
well if that was true then the orignal script i put out on the web site would work as there is no additional code other then what they have stated works.

But I am like you, I just dont know JavaScript that well so I am at a loss :confused:

SolidSnke
09-17-2006, 08:01 PM
bump..

jscheuer1
09-18-2006, 04:50 AM
You should take a look at the thread mentioned by synergy, I solved his problem there. It sounds like the same thing you are struggling with. Here is the link again:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13070