PDA

View Full Version : Switch Content format questions

Sheila
09-07-2006, 05:47 PM
Switch Content I
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/switchcontent.htm

I've used this script successfully to set up a couple of FAQs. Now I'm trying to use it in a slightly different way. My client has a lengthy list she wants to display in sections to be revealed on click. Further she feels the +/- symbols are not clear enough. So I'm trying to use gif images for the first time. Is there any way to add space between the image and the text? I guess I could go in and add space to the image. Just thought there might be another way.

Also, I've never done more than Q/A before. She has the need for nested topics. I wasn't sure this could be done. I am a designer NOT a coder so my coding skills are very limited. What I figured I'd do is put in the headings manually on the page when there are subheadings that will expand. That's working... EXCEPT I'm getting a ton of space between sections and I'm at a loss as to how to manipulate all this to make it look good. I don't know what to edit or how to control the space between sections.

Here's a link to a sample of the page. I haven't put all the content in yet as I need to be sure the client likes this approach first.
http://www.hoffmangraphics.com/susan/html/clients.html

Your help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your patience with a newbie.

Sheila

thePraeotirna
09-07-2006, 06:30 PM
Well, what you have there looks fine to me. I even see space between the gif and the categories. However, if you want to add more space manually you can use &nbsp; which will add one space. So use as many as you want. As for the space between them, using css, you can adjust the padding of the <li> elements. If you need to adjust just the ones that are expanding and contracting, then I would suggest giving either the other <li> elements a class name, or giving class names to the category ones. That way in the css you can do..