PDA

View Full Version : "Accept" and move on

mmacw
01-09-2005, 02:14 AM
i simply want an "accept" check box before the user moves to the next page.

mwinter
01-09-2005, 12:51 PM
i simply want an "accept" check box before the user moves to the next page.If you want this to be legally binding[1], this would have to be enforced reliably which means a client-side solution is completely out of the question. What server-side languages do you have at your disposal?

Mike

[1] I seem to remember doubts that an "accept" checkbox, or similar, can provide this on a website as it may be possible to skip straight past it.

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer.

mmacw
01-09-2005, 09:24 PM
thanx. i agree, just looking for new ideas.

ron

ddadmin
01-11-2005, 02:06 AM

Well, here's a modified example that doesn't disable the submit button directly, simply prevents the form from submitting if the checkbox isn't checked:

<script type="text/javascript">

//"Accept terms" form submission- By Dynamic Drive
//For full source code and more DHTML scripts, visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com
//This credit MUST stay intact for use

function defaultagree(el){
var checkobj=el.agreecheck
if (checkobj.checked)
return true
else{
alert("Please read/accept terms to submit form")
return false
}
}

</script>

<body>

<form name="agreeform" onSubmit="return defaultagree(this)">
Rest of your form here<br>
<input name="agreecheck" type="checkbox"><b>I agree to the above terms</b><br>
<input type="Submit" value="Submit!">
</form>

mwinter
01-11-2005, 02:07 PM
Well, here's a modified example that doesn't disable the submit button directlyGood. Disabling a form control via HTML creates a dependancy on client-side scripting which is never desirable on the Web.