PDA

View Full Version : Iframe SSI script II Problem!



missmacks
08-29-2006, 02:16 AM
Well, the problem is I use that script, and it works PERFECTLY fine in IE 7, Beta 3.
But in Firefox 1.5.0.6 it adds scrollbars to my script, and if the page that loads in the Iframe is smaller than the height of the content on my page, it makes my content smaller!!! It's not supposed to do that! Or else it wouldn't work perfectly on IE 7. I know I put the script in correctly, and it is nothing in my coding.
Please! If anyone can help, it would be so great. I'm sorry I can't put the site on here as an example for privacy reasons.. But please someone help! It's driving me crazy.
Link to the script: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/iframessi2.htm
The tester page of my site to demonstrate the problem: http://www.freewebs.com/majestyicewolf/testerpage.htm

jscheuer1
08-29-2006, 05:17 PM
IE 7, Beta 3 isn't a full release version. The fact that anything works or doesn't work in it is basically meaningless, although one would assume that it is more standards compliant than IE 6. Still, even this cannot be certain for any particular layout, design or script feature.

Warning: Please include a link to the DD script in question in your post. See this thread (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6) for the proper posting format when asking a question.

Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

I see you have typed that you cannot comply with this second request due to privacy reasons. In that case a link to a live page or the full code of a page which demonstrates the problem you are talking about would be required.

However, unless your page isn't intended to ever be on the internet, I see little reason why it could be private, though there could be exceptions. Remember, the internet is a public medium.

missmacks
08-29-2006, 07:11 PM
Yes, I know, no, it is meant to be public, I just don't want anyone seeing it untill it is finished. Well, I suppose there is no fix for it, than?

missmacks
08-29-2006, 07:46 PM
I will try to get a tester page up. Would that help?

jscheuer1
08-30-2006, 05:42 AM
I will try to get a tester page up. Would that help?

Yes, and for easy reference, please post a link to the script here on Dynamic Drive that you are using as well.

missmacks
08-30-2006, 08:05 AM
Thank you.
I did, I put it on the first post.

missmacks
08-31-2006, 09:27 PM
Link to the script: http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/iframessi2.htm
The tester page of my site to demonstrate the problem: http://www.freewebs.com/majestyicewolf/testerpage.htm

jscheuer1
09-01-2006, 04:44 AM
In both IE 6 and FF there are no links to click on. I think you may have been led down the garden path, as it were, using IE 7. If this demo page works in it, and has links - something is very wrong:

http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.freewebs.com%2Fmajestyicewolf%2Ftesterpage.htm

and:

http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/validator?profile=css2&warning=2&uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.freewebs.com%2Fmajestyicewolf%2Ftesterpage.htm

missmacks
09-01-2006, 05:43 AM
Oh, goodness, well, the problem is I forgot to put the links on there, but I don't need to put them on there.
Just see how my tagboard sticks out of the double border? I don't want that to happen, if I had written a longer post in the center Iframe using the script it would not have poked out like that, but it's shorter than the container so it makes it smaller, making my content stick out.

jscheuer1
09-01-2006, 07:07 AM
Add the red declaration to the selector as shown on your style sheet:


#contents { clear:both;margin: 0 200px 80px 20px;border: 1px none #fff; }


This has nothing to do with the script though. All browsers besides IE treat floated content differently. It is a little bit as though it was absolutely positioned in that it has no dimensions in the flow of the page unless cleared by a later element. However, your markup is so non-standard, I cannot predict how this change will react to other content you may add to the page. It will clear up the problem in FF for the demo as is.

missmacks
09-02-2006, 05:52 AM
Thank you!!! So much for your patience and help.
It was driving me crazy but hopefully this'll do the trick.
Thanks for your help, I'll get right on it.

missmacks
09-02-2006, 06:02 AM
Okay, now when I put the script in it pushes the Iframe to the bottom, why does it do that?

jscheuer1
09-02-2006, 06:17 AM
However, your markup is so non-standard, I cannot predict how this change will react to other content you may add to the page.

The above quoted observation most likely points to the cause. My advice would be to simplify your layout as much as possible and make sure that it is at least valid before adding any scripts to it.