PDA

View Full Version : Popup Window Generator



Wildfire563
08-10-2006, 07:01 PM
1) Script Title: Popup WIndow Generator

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex8/popwin.htm

3) Describe problem: I'm confused. The directions of the script say to put the script section in the head section. But When I do that, I get an error on the closing line just before </script>. And the script doesn't work.

So I looked at the source of the example, and noticed that the script portion on DD is in the body, just above the link. So I did that and the script seems to work fine.

Question 1: Are the directions wrong? (or did I misunderstand something?)

Question 2: Is there any way to get rid of the status bar at the bottom? It seems to work when I preview the code in Frontpage, but when I publish it, and click on the link, the new window always has a status bar.

Thanks,

Thomas
www.flyingscool.com

Script is used at
http://www.flyingscool.com/FlyingsCool_Videos.htm and down at the bottom select the link to Class 1

jscheuer1
08-10-2006, 07:14 PM
Q1 ) No, the directions aren't wrong. If it works the way you have it now though, and doesn't conflict with another script, don't worry about it.

Q2 ) No. Not in modern browsers. Locally, this can work sometimes, but not on a live page.

Wildfire563
08-10-2006, 07:20 PM
Hmm, but the DD example page has the script in the body? And it doesn't work when I put it in the header and I get an error, but it does work when I put it in the body?

Is there something fishy going on here? Am I missing something? I am using IE6

Thanks for the quick reply.