PDA

View Full Version : Simple Tree Menu in Safari



skpoop
08-07-2006, 04:46 PM
1) Script Title: Simple Tree Menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/navigate1.htm

3) Describe problem: <li> items which are links are not clickable in Safari (works fine in other browsers). I can, however, right click and open them in new windows, and on hover the url is displayed in the status bar. any suggestions would be much appreciated.

jscheuer1
08-08-2006, 04:54 AM
First of all the script is not rated for Safari. If this does not happen in Safari on the demo page, then there is probably some way around it as, it is probably your layout that is causing the problem. If it does happen on the demo page in Safari, there is also probably a way around but, it would require troubleshooting the script and markup for Safari. I don't have regular access to a Mac for testing, perhaps someone else around here who does would like to take that on. Check the demo in Safari if you haven't already and let me know.

jscheuer1
08-08-2006, 05:01 AM
I see that the demo page appears to have no links. Hmm, can you provide a link to your problem page?

skpoop
08-09-2006, 01:12 PM
John,

you can try
http://web.uconn.edu/hrweb/test/test.html

under Folder 1 there is a link.

thanks for the help
sk

jscheuer1
08-09-2006, 06:54 PM
That wouldn't be an adequate test for two reasons I can see right away, the page linked to does not exist (different browsers treat this situation differently) and the link itself is not semantically correct (quotes around the href value are required), this might or might not be a problem for Safari.

Example of semantically correct link:


<a href="test.html">Sub Item 1.1</a>

jscheuer1
08-10-2006, 05:33 AM
I was rushed at that last post. Although what I said there is true, it appears not to be the problem. I even went so far as to validate the demo page and style (as far as possible) and upload them to my own server. The same problem persisted in Safari. Therefore the problem is most likely with the script itself. Without any Safari debugging tools at my disposal, I don't think it would be very easy to figure out. If there are any errors reported by Safari on your end, they might be helpful and would be more meaningful if they were reported on the 'validated' version of the demo.

Here is a link to my 'validated' version of your demo:

http://home.comcast.net/~jscheuer1/side/sim_test.htm