PDA

View Full Version : Help: Firefox Won't Display Dynamic Content



jromeo
07-21-2006, 08:26 PM
Here's one. Please visit the following link...

http://www.southtechinc.com/test.htm

This page has a file input, an iframe, and a div layer.

Using MSIE, if you choose an image using the file input, then click the Div Preview and Iframe Preview links, you'll see them both load on the page as they "should."

Try that with Firefox, and you get...

"Security Error: Content at http://www.southtechinc.com/test.htm may not load or link to file:///your_image_path."

Firefox apparently considers this dynamic content writing a security risk. Is there any way around it?

Please have a look at the source code,too. Thanks.

Twey
07-21-2006, 08:45 PM
Firefox apparently considers this dynamic content writing a security risk.No, it considers reading local files a security risk, and rightly so. I'm (mildly) surprised if IE doesn't. There is no way around this, except to upload the content to your server first before displaying it.

Oh, and your code adds one too many slashes:
file:////home/twey/Images/25%2003.jpg

ceeeyem
09-19-2006, 04:29 PM
Hi jromeo,
This is infact a security measure that firefox adopts in order to stop malicious JS code to be employed. But there is a work around. In versions prior to Firefox 1.5, you can type in about:config in your address box of the browser and make a global change so that this check is disabled. This work around as you would guess is a like declaring a "global variable" ;-).

But from Firefox 1.5 onwards, this can be restricted to a site that you think is a trusted site.
The following 2 links will provide all the information that you will need to address the issue.
http://home.att.net/~cherokee67/ns7profloc.html ( gives you information on where to find the Profiles folder addressed in the second link below).
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Links_to_local_pages_don't_work

Good luck!