PDA

View Full Version : Drop down menu w/ description



lnewton
12-16-2004, 08:39 PM
I have a web consisting of frames. Using a drop-down menu in one frame, I want to be able to open a page in another frame. How do I modify the code so that the page opens in the desired frame rather than the same frame?

Thanks in advance.

cr3ative
12-16-2004, 08:47 PM
You are teh l33t h4x0r!

cr3ative

lnewton
12-17-2004, 02:48 AM
I have a web consisting of frames. Using a drop-down menu in one frame, I want to be able to open a page in another frame. How do I modify the code so that the page opens in the desired frame rather than the same frame?


http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/combodescribe.htm

<form name="form1">
<select name="select1" size="1" style="background-color:#FFFFD7" onChange="displaydesc(document.form1.select1, thetext1, 'textcontainer1')">
<option selected value="http://www.javascriptkit.com">JavaScript Kit </option>
<option value="http://freewarejava.com">Freewarejava.com</option>
<option value="http://wired.com" target="newwin">Wired News</option>
<option value="http://www.news.com">News.com</option>
<option value="http://www.codingforums.com" target="newwin">Coding Forums</option>
</select>
<input type="button" value="Go"
onClick="jumptolink(document.form1.select1)"><br>
<span id="textcontainer1" align="left" style="font:italic 13px Arial">
</span>
</form>

<!--IMPORTANT: Below script should always follow all of your HTML codes above, and never proceed them-->
<!--To be safe, just add below script at the end of your page-->

<script type="text/javascript">


var thetext1=new Array()
thetext1[0]="Comprehensive JavaScript tutorials and over 400+ free scripts"
thetext1[1]="Direct link to hundreds of free Java applets online!"
thetext1[2]="Up to date news on the technology front"
thetext1[3]="News.com- The #1 technology News site."
thetext1[4]="Web Coding and development forums"


var thetext2=new Array()
thetext2[0]="CNN- US and World News."
thetext2[1]="MSNBC- NBC News online."
thetext2[2]="BBC News- Updated every minute of every day."
thetext2[3]="TheRegister- Daily IT news."

function displaydesc(which, descriptionarray, container){
if (document.getElementById)
document.getElementById(container).innerHTML=descriptionarray[which.selectedIndex]
}

function jumptolink(what){
var selectedopt=what.options[what.selectedIndex]
if (document.getElementById && selectedopt.getAttribute("target")=="newwin")
window.open(selectedopt.value)
else
window.location=selectedopt.value
}

displaydesc(document.form1.select1, thetext1, 'textcontainer1')
displaydesc(document.form2.select2, thetext2, 'textcontainer2')

</script>

Thanks in advance.

ddadmin
12-21-2004, 12:29 AM
Firstly, please make sure the copyright is present in your actual page using the script, which reads:

/***********************************************
* Drop down menu w/ description- Dynamic Drive (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice must stay intact for use
* Visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for full source code
***********************************************/

I don't see that in the posted code above. Our usage terms here: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/notice.htm

Regarding your question, try changing:

window.location=selectedopt.value

to:

parent.myframe.location=selectedopt.value

where "myframe" is the name of the frame you wish to target.