PDA

View Full Version : light box viewer doesn't work



frozen_fire
07-08-2006, 12:34 PM
1) Script Title:
lightbox image viewer
2) Script URL (on DD):
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/lightbox/index.htm
3) Describe problem:
I just can't get this script to work on my site. I made sure that I uploaded the files correctly and that the correct file names were used in all the scripts but instead of it coming up in the light box it just shows the image on a new page as if it were a normal link. There was one time I saw the loading bar for like .5 seconds but then it just went to the same page. Here is the site so you can see the problem: http://www.geocities.com/mitchs_site_v2@sbcglobal.net/picturespeople.html

jr_yeo
07-08-2006, 01:22 PM
just a hunch..... there's a conflict between 3 three scripts :p DOM Image rollover, Cool DHTML tooltip, Lightbox image viewer :D

frozen_fire
07-08-2006, 01:27 PM
thats what I thought too so I made a test page that had no other scripts and it still didn't work. here is the page: http://www.geocities.com/mitchs_site_v2@sbcglobal.net/test.html you can see it blink real fast in the middle but thats it.

jr_yeo
07-08-2006, 01:58 PM
try to access the test.html from ur own computer :p not from the yahoo! Geocities site :D
and remove

<script language="JavaScript">var PUpage="76001072"; var PUprop="geocities"; </script><script language="JavaScript" src="http://www.geocities.com/js_source/pu5geo.js"></script><script language="JavaScript"> var thGetOv="http://themis.geocities.yahoo.com/themis/h.php"; var thCanURL="http://us.geocities.com/mitchs_site_v2@sbcglobal.net/test.html"; var thSpaceId="76001072"; var thIP="124.106.130.11"; var thTs="1152365324"; var thCs="71fbb0640e7cfcbb145102b0f73527a0";</script><noscript><link rel="stylesheet" href="http://themis.geocities.yahoo.com/jsoff.css?thIP=124.106.130.11&thTs=1152365324"></noscript><script language="JavaScript" src="http://us.geocities.com/js_source/geovck08.js"></script>
<!-- text above generated by server. PLEASE REMOVE -->
and

<!-- text below generated by server. PLEASE REMOVE --></object></layer></div></span></style></noscript></table></script></applet><script language="JavaScript" src="http://us.i1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/mc/mc.js"></script><script language="JavaScript" src="http://geocities.com/js_source/geov2.js"></script><script language="javascript">geovisit();</script><noscript><img src="http://visit.geocities.yahoo.com/visit.gif?us1152365324" alt="setstats" border="0" width="1" height="1"></noscript>

<IMG SRC="http://geo.yahoo.com/serv?s=76001072&t=1152365324&f=us-w82" ALT=1 WIDTH=1 HEIGHT=1>

dunno why that is the case though... :o

frozen_fire
07-08-2006, 03:39 PM
well thanks for tryin but that didn't work either.

jr_yeo
07-08-2006, 04:03 PM
well thanks for tryin

ur welcome :p

WebFire
07-10-2006, 03:24 PM
I have also tried this script with no luck. And I am not on GeoCities. I even compared the code to the demo code and it all looks good.

jr_yeo
07-10-2006, 06:30 PM
WebFire : could u post a link to ur problematic page? :D

WebFire
07-10-2006, 07:28 PM
I made an empty page with nothing else on it and it worked locally. I didn't try remote. If I can't get it working tonight I will post the link.

WebFire
07-11-2006, 03:45 AM
All taken care of. I had to remove the preload in the body tag. No big deal thise time. I wonder though, is there a way around not having to remove that stuff?

jscheuer1
07-11-2006, 06:55 AM
All taken care of. I had to remove the preload in the body tag. No big deal thise time. I wonder though, is there a way around not having to remove that stuff?

Yes, but it depends upon the script(s) involved. Lightbox has several versions which potentially complicates things. Basically though, a page can have only one onload event. These can be declared in several different ways so, the trick is to find all onload declarations (including any on external scripts linked to your page) and combine them together in one place. There are other approaches but the most economical and successful is the combining of multiple onload events into one.

Most but not all versions of lightbox use this onload event:

initLightbox();

Sometimes just adding this to your body's onload will do the trick, other times it also needs to be removed from the external script file as well.

Specific examples of how to do this with the original lightbox version and preloading can be found here (on the author's site):

http://www.huddletogether.com/projects/lightbox/

Scroll down to the troubleshooting section.