PDA

View Full Version : Chrome menu need to remove space beneath



Dibble
06-28-2006, 05:32 AM
Re: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/chrome/index.htm

I create a space to insert the menu but when I edit it in FP it expands and creates a space beneath that I cannot reduce

First picture is from Frontpage

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j156/itsdibble/menuspaceFP.jpg

Second picture is from IE showing the space

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j156/itsdibble/menuspace.jpg

jscheuer1
06-28-2006, 05:41 AM
Pictures are nice but, we really need to see your code live to be of any specific help. This same general situation came up recently except that the offending browsers were Opera and Safari with the menu lining up well in FF and IE. You can have a look at that thread here:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10668

Also, since you are using FP, the problem may lie in FP's tendency to modify code when you are not looking. Here is my standard info on that:


Well, you might be able to configure FP so as to allow you to insert code like this without it mangling it so much. Read the manual or Google for help on that. Another alternative, and what I recommend in all cases like this, is to get your page looking like you want using FP but without any scripts. Save a copy of that somewhere to work on later if the need arises. Next open the page in notepad or simple text and add the scripts in according to the installation instructions, including any customization you've added. Never load this version of the page into FP ever again. To preview it locally, use the browser. To upload it, use FTP (preferred) or your host's online uploading tool.

Here is another solution I ran across* but, since I do not use FP, I haven't tested it:

In a text editor open the page whose code you wish to preserve.

At the beginning of the section of code you wish to prevent FrontPage from modifying, add the following line of code:


<!--webbot bot="HTMLMarkup" startspan -->

At the end of the code section, add the following line of code:


<!--webbot bot="HTMLMarkup" endspan -->

Save the changes to the file. The next time the file is opened in FrontPage, FrontPage will not attempt to alter the code between the two HTMLMarkup tags.

*Posted in these forums by usace-lrc and perhaps others.

Dibble
06-28-2006, 05:52 AM
It is for a internal company site so I wont be able to publish all the code is there a specific section you want to look at?

jscheuer1
06-28-2006, 06:01 AM
I'd want to see a live demo of the problem, including any images, and external files (.js and .css, etc.) used. It doesn't have to be linked to anything as it is just the layout of the page that is the problem. Or you could make a .zip of the page and any images and external files used and attach it to a message here. If there are no images, just the code (including any external files) will do.

Dibble
06-30-2006, 05:08 AM
I was able to remove spaces in the chrome bar in FP and it then let me resize the area and eliminate the unwanted space beneath thanks for your reply