PDA

View Full Version : div expansion



neilkw
06-26-2006, 10:01 AM
I am in the process of designing a site.
I am keen to have a outer 'container' div. with a nice crisp border attribute
I also want a central div for the 'content', sitting inside the 'container'.

What is the best practice in sizing these divs ? ensuring that when my 'content' div receives more content over time, the outer container resizes to always leave me with a nice visible outer border.

thanks

djr33
06-26-2006, 10:05 AM
You could just make the container 100%, or whatever, then the inner one 95% of the outer one.
Spacing it so that you always have, say, 5 pixels on the edges would be harder, but you might want to look into spacing properties for that.
For tables, you can have cell-spacing set to a certain number of pixels that will offset from the edges. Not sure if that applies to divs or not, but might be quite helpful.

neilkw
06-26-2006, 10:29 AM
too add.

I will also be needing to add 2 'header' div's at the topleft and right corners inside the 'container' but as I have to specift floats on these I think they may conflict with the height attribute of the 'container'. Am i right? and is there a work around to this?

neilkw
06-26-2006, 11:05 AM
well, as ever.

minutes after posting the problem i seemed to have sorted it.

cheers

neilkw
06-26-2006, 11:20 AM
I'd appreciate if anyone has a few spare minutes to maybe look at the site I have started on. I am viewing it on a mac via safari and FF and it looks fine.
But I am prepared for the worst...

Are my divs all over the place on other pc browsers? There should be a horizontal header with a green nav below on left and a central div right of the nav. All of this housed in a bordered container.



thanks. link below
www.ukbw.com/natural

djr33
06-26-2006, 11:28 AM
Seems ok to me, using IE.

neilkw
06-26-2006, 11:33 AM
ok, Thanks, do you see this layout ?
(see attached)

djr33
06-26-2006, 11:36 AM
Yep :)

neilkw
06-26-2006, 12:10 PM
which version of ie are you using?

Twey
06-26-2006, 12:24 PM
Looks fine in Konqueror 3.5.3 as well.

neilkw
06-26-2006, 12:35 PM
cheers guys.
It's looking odd in maxthon and IE here. I hate this bit of testing!
is there a website out there that can take a screenshot of a webpage in a host of browsers for designers like me to stop pulling their hair out and annoying people?

djr33
06-26-2006, 01:12 PM
I don't think that exists, though it would be cool.

I'm using IE 6.0.29....