PDA

View Full Version : Problems separating out js and css from code on Dynamic Drive

DreamGirlB
06-18-2006, 03:06 PM
The following link has all the necessary code to make tab menus:
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...ddtabmenu2.htm

My problem is instead of having it all in one document I want to break it up into three documents:
test2.html
top_nav.css
nav.js

I was able to successfully take the css code and break it into its own file.. but am unable to take the javascript and have it work in its own file..

If the css is broken out into its own doc.. and javascript stuff stays in the file.. it still works! can someone please take a look at it? I've attached the three files. (for the .css and .html) you'll have to take the .txt. This really shouldnt be hard.. what am I missing?

I posted this twice after finding out this question is better posted here. I'm sorry about that, I'm a newbie.

Twey
06-18-2006, 03:20 PM
Remove the </script> tag from the end of the JS file.
Also, the credit must go between the <script></script> tags on your page, not in an external file, according to DD's terms.

DreamGirlB
06-18-2006, 05:03 PM
I took out the </script>
that didnt help
I'm not understanding whatyou said about the things that go between <script> </script>

are you saying its not possible to move some of this to a java script file?

DreamGirlB
06-18-2006, 05:06 PM
Wait, I think it worked.. I've taken that script line out before...and it didnt work..but i probably had something else wrong.. truly amazing.. thank you so much twey.. its always the little things explain more about the credit

U mean this?
/***********************************************
* DD Tab Menu II script- &#169; Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for full source code

and it should go in the HEAD of my html?

Twey
06-18-2006, 05:07 PM