PDA

View Full Version : HELP! with framesets



untitlejk
06-10-2006, 04:41 AM
I'm new to frames and need some help because I cant seem to get the 4th row of the framesets to show up.


Basically, I'm trying to make 4 rows and each row has a different # of columns. The first 3 rows show up fine but the 4th row just does not show anything.. just a blank white page.

Here is my code:



<frameset border=1 rows="15%,58%,*,*">

<frameset cols="5%,*">
<frame src="blank.html" scrolling="no" noresize>
<frame src="banner.html" scrolling="no" noresize>
</frameset>

<frameset cols="6%,29%,59%,6%">
<frame src="blank.html" scrolling="no" noresize>
<frame src="target.html" scrolling="no" noresize>
<frame src="index.html" scrolling="no" noresize>
<frame src="blank.html" scrolling="no" noresize>
</frameset>

<frameset>
<frame src="menu.html" scrolling="no" noresize>
</frameset>

<frameset>
<frame src="cantseethisone.html" scrolling="no" noresize>
</frameset>

</frameset>


The screen cuts up into 4 rows as I want, but the last frameset with "cantseethisone.html" does not show up the page, just a blank.

What am I doing wrong? Please someone help me out!

Thanks in advance.

djr33
06-10-2006, 07:31 AM
I'm assuming it relates to the setup for the rows, as that is a row, and it isn't being seen.

<frameset border=1 rows="15%,58%,*,*">

So... that's 73% that is taken by the first two, and blanks for the others. I'm not familiar with using an * as a blank in the case of framesets, but then again, I don't know framesets will in general.

My two guesses--
1. That isn't the right character to use here,
2. The first one with * as height is taking the space of the second as well. Like i've seen with tables, things will slide around as the browser feels, unless there is only one determined after the rest; just set three of the four to numerical values and leave only one blank, and it will assume the remaining space.

Aside from this, I don't know. It might be something else, but I wouldn't know.



Wait... the placeholding frames are there, but just the page itself doesn't load? There's a space where it should be loading?
If so, no idea then. Sorry.



Either way, a solution could be setting up the rows in a frameset page, then having each row include the src for another frameset page, instead of having them all in one.

Like:
<frameset border=1 rows="15%,58%,*,*">
<frame src="row1.html" scrolling="no" noresize>
<frame src="row2.html" scrolling="no" noresize>
<frame src="row3.html" scrolling="no" noresize>
<frame src="row4.html" scrolling="no" noresize>
</frameset>Where row1.html is:
<frameset cols="5%,*">
<frame src="blank.html" scrolling="no" noresize>
<frame src="banner.html" scrolling="no" noresize>
</frameset>And the same for the rest.



Good luck.

untitlejk
06-10-2006, 11:54 PM
Right on, your suggestion worked. Thanks for your help! :D

djr33
06-11-2006, 06:53 AM
Sure. I think that may be the only way to do it correctly... the fact that it almost worked the first time was probably just random chance.

untitlejk
06-12-2006, 02:13 AM
Basically, I'm targeting an image from one frame to another frame but the image automatically has margins... I'm guessing by default with ie browsers.

From CLICK to TARGET.

http://student.ucr.edu/~kohj02/demo2.jpg

The white area are the margins I want to remove and have the blue box with a black background.

Thanks in advance for any help!

djr33
06-12-2006, 06:30 AM
I just replied in your new thread. Please only post once.