PDA

View Full Version : Ajax Tabs Content script - External links?



ayrkain
06-09-2006, 08:08 AM
Ajax Tabs Content script:
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxtabscontent/index.htm

Hi, I'm new to Java in general, but I was wondering if it's possible to make an external link to a page using Ajax Tabs so that a tab beside the default would be selected first.

Thanks!

hebbs01
06-22-2006, 02:21 PM
Ajax Tabs Content script:
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxtabscontent/index.htm

Hi, I'm new to Java in general, but I was wondering if it's possible to make an external link to a page using Ajax Tabs so that a tab beside the default would be selected first.

Thanks!

Hi,

Had to read this a few times which probably explains you lack of responses, I think you need to clarify this a bit :)

What do you mean by external link; external to your directory/server/???

The default will be the first one opened, thats what defaults do ;). Im not quite sure why you would have a default then want another script/page opened?

Hebbs

ddadmin
06-22-2006, 09:33 PM
Yep, please clarify your question. FYI the script supports 3 types of tab content:

1) Inline tab content
2) External content, fetched via Ajax
3) Regular links. In other words, a tab can act as a regular link to an external page.

Wildfire563
08-21-2006, 03:51 AM
Script: Tab Content Script

URL: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/tabcontent.htm

Problem:
I think what he meant, and it is something I would like to do, and I'm wondering if the tabcontent.js cookie feature can be exploited to do it, is:

I have a menu bar across the top of all my pages. On the menu bar I have a dropdown menu showing several choices. I would like each of these links in the dropdown menu to call a particular page, and have each link open a different tab on that page.

I don't know how to pass information from one page to another through a link.

Select the Downloads button on the top menu bar of my site:

http://www.flyingscool.com/index3.htm

ddadmin
08-21-2006, 07:07 AM
Wildfire563, it's certainly possible to have a link go to a page plus select a particular tab. If your page is dynamically generated for examp,e, it's a matter of just adding "selected" to the desired tab (li) dynamically.

I understand what you're saying about being able to do this client side. I've made a note of such a feature, and most likely will add it the next time this script is updated.

jscheuer1
08-21-2006, 07:15 AM
Cookies or a server side generated page could be a way to go with this but, here is a quick and dirty method that works with ordinary pages:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showpost.php?p=48584&postcount=3

ddadmin
08-21-2006, 08:22 AM
Yep, that will certainly work John. :) In fact, I think that's pretty much what I had in mind for doing this, via a URL get query string.